We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busiest Place in Chester on a Sunday Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fattoria

La Fattoria
25 lower bridge street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
01244 317330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 390 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Halifax
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Busiest Place in Chester on a Sunday Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We ate here last Sunday evening, central Chester was dead except for this place, the food we had was simple but delicious & very good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    179
    45
    26
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was in Chester for work and needed somewhere to have dinner. Browsing TripAdvisor I came across La Fattoria and thought it worth a shot.

I did not book, but was accomodated very quickly. The restaurant was busy - always a good sign, but the service was very attentive. Almost as soon as I had finished my first beer I was offered another.

I started with the deep fried mozzarella in breadcrumbs - excellent - followed by a very tasty calzone. The olive oil drizzled over the top really complimented the taste of the crust. I finished off with lemon sorbet - I was rather worried when I heard the bag being opened, but it was wonderful - delightfully sharp.

I would be more than happy to return there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantasticooooo...........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Excellent food at a reasonable price. Portion sizes were about spot on. Mushroom risotto was like I remember from my youth in Italy. Tasted the ' salt'in bocca' which will definitely be my next main upon my return visit. Taste before seasoning, as there is enough salt on the food. Atmosphere was excellent. As a member of the party was celebrating her birthday, staff did the usual celebratory noise as the cake was fetched to the table. An enjoyable evening out with authentic Italian food. This restaurant is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Chester!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Me and my partner visit this restaurant regularly so for my birthday we decided where else?!

There was 9 of us in the party and they looked after us perfectly.. Like always. All of the family had an amazing time and everybody loved the food that they ordered. They brought out a cake that had been arranged earlier in the day by my mother and they made the whole experience extra special!

There is no faulting this place, the food is exceptional for the price you pay. Such good value for perfect food.

The staff are always welcoming and friendly making the visits very personal.

Save yourself the disappointment from a chain restaurant and visit this amazing family run business.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We've visited La Fattoria for the first time a few days ago and I can honestly say it's my new favourite restaurant in Chester!
The interior is very nice, authentic and inviting. With so many choices, it took me a while to decide what I wanted, but I went traditional eventually: I had pasta and my husband had a pizza, both absolutely delicious! The dessert was very nice as well, even the latte and espresso we had afterwards were better than what we usually have when we go out.
A shout out to the staff as well, they were great! Very friendly, helpful and I loved the fact they were all Italians. Well done, grazie mille ragazzi!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fattoria also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to La Fattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.