We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never going here again!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Fattoria

La Fattoria
25 lower bridge street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
01244 317330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 390 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never going here again!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My friend had booked a table for about 20 of us for her birthday, arrived there ordered food and drinks all fine so far. the waiters brought our drinks over didn't know what they were doing and some of the group had ordered wine but the waiters thought they were for everyone and started filling everyones glasses with it. the food came and when they gave them to us the pizzas were burnt and you couldn't even cut it with a steak knife, the pasta was undercooked and heard that they had put too much spice in and 3 of the girls couldn't eat their food. then here comes the best part. we asked for the bill and it came to £300!! we all paid for our own and when we added everything up it came to less than what they had put down. they had charged us an extra bottle of wine that we didn't even order! oh and make sure you check the back of the menu. apparently it states that they charge 10% for the service even though it was crap! the manager would not back down and admit that he made this error and continued to argue with us. in the end he obviously did not want the whole restaurant to see that we were not at all pleased and told us to get out and never come back as we had made that much of a fuss. don't you worry mate we won't!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    179
    45
    26
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Chester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The food here is unrivalled in Chester - I would personally recommend the mushroom tomato pasta and the pizzas are incredible.
The atmosphere is great especially if its your birthday! Waiters are relaxed and fun and make you feel at home.
Definitely go if you're in the area!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great atmosphere and really good food at a low price. Also being able to see your pizza being cooked whilst you wait is very interesting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic.......even on races night !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Group of nine of us dined here following Chester Races and happy to say that it was excellent all round. The staff were all very attentive, well humoured and had an air of Italian authenticity about them. We celebrated a birthday in our group and whilst bashing pots with spoons may not be to everyone's taste it was great fun and really adds to the atmosphere. We will definitely be returning as the food was so good.....thanks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“3 visits in one week while in Chester! Yes, it is THAT good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our third visit of the week, the last visit being Thursday 12th September. Yes, it was THAT good! We had visited once before, a few years back, so was looking forward to returning for some really good Italian food

All three nights were excellent, we had pasta & pizza, tom garlic bread, olives, and one night, some really scrummy pistachio ice cream...yum!

It was incredibly busy on all three nights and the second night (Wed 11th September) there was no less than 5 birthdays being celebrated!

Being such a busy restaurant you could understand there could be room for errors and that was seen by the last reviewer, who also went there on Thursday. We arrived about 9.15pm, though on the Wednesday even after coming in earlier and requesting a table for an hour later, we still had to wait at least 20 mins, but it was fun watching the pizza guy do his thing with a bottle of Peroni!

They do a very delicious home made pesto and was informed by the manager that they make it with alot of fresh basil...and you could tell!! I had the pesto pasta, the third evening, a spicy tomato pasta...absolutely delicious! It was also a lovely surprise to be given complimentary lemon cello's even though we did not mention it was our last night in Chester.

All in all, a very pleasant visit and ending a lovely week's stay in Chester. Many have commented it is the best Italian around and when you walk past the other restaurants in Chester and see them either empty or half empty and you come along here and see it PACKED to the rafters, you can understand why!

Thank you to the restaurant for giving us some unforgettable Italian food and also highly recommended if you want great atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fattoria also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to La Fattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.