We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Coach House to your Saves list
The Coach House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

I can only add to whats already been said about the Coach House. Its a beautiful place, the rooms are amazing, real luxury and the food was lovely. The cooked breakfast was HUGE, it kept us going all day (the sausages are from the local market and they were lovely.) We also had an evening meal in there and it was first class. The location is the best, right in the centre. Ive stayed in lots of places around the world but i have to say the staff at the Coach House are a credit to the place. So friendly and always pleasant. It was my husbands 60th birthday and they brought Champagne and strawberries up to our room. Lovely. I had actually asked on trip advisor for advice on where to stay in Chester and the Coach House was recomended to me so i,m glad i took the advice. We couldnt have asked for a better place and i,d definately go back there. One other thing i was advised to do was to ask for a *quiet* room if noise bothered us. Its noisy where i live so this wouldnt have bothered me at all and i wouldnt expect it to be quiet at the weekends. But i asked anyway and we were given a room on the 2nd floor (room 7) and we didnt hear any noise at all considering we were right in the centre. Theres a night porter as well which i thought was very good. All in all a definate 10 out of 10 in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    62
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
109
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flintshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Coach House on 12th June. We live approx 7 miles outside of Chester but decided to stay over to attend a friend’s birthday and shop in the day!

I will get the MINOR hiccups out of the way first – the view wasn’t great (We stayed in room 3, and I suppose City hotels don’t always have great views but I recommend paying the extra to try and get rooms 1, 2, 8 or 9 which all look over the town hall/cathedral. Rooms 8 and 9 in particular have lovely bay windows. The toilet made a loud churning noise whenever the shower or tap was on which could be heard in the bedroom too, the shower wasn’t very powerful (Probably ok for some people but wasn’t what I’m used to) and there were no milk with the tea facilities, but we didn’t notice this until the morning. I’m sure if we’d noticed in the day and asked the staff they would have happily brought some up for us. The air con was also very noisy!!

As said, only minor problems and most can be prevented.

On to the positives… This hotel has exceptionally friendly staff, always smiling and seem very happy to help. There was plenty of choice at breakfast with many local produce used. The location of this hotel is perfect! Situated close to the main bus station right in the centre – great for shopping/nightlife/site-seeing. All the rooms were very tastefully decorated with comfy beds, table/chairs, wardrobe, hairdryers, TV with freeview etc. The hotel has limited free parking so try and book your space early. Alternatively they have an NCP multi-storey nearby, bus station close as mentioned above and a train station approx 20 mins walk away, or short taxi ride.

Although we didn’t use this service, the hotel also have a night porter, so if you still fancy a drink downstairs after the restaurant is closed, that’s no problem at all! The drinks will just be charged to your room. The Coach House also offer main meals, but if you’d like any other restaurant recommendations, please let me know! I cannot rate Chester highly enough :-)

Overall, this is probably one of the nicest hotels to stay in Chester with an average budget.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Just returned yesterday from a weekend break and loved it!! The hotel is clean, modern, the double room we had was massive and the staff were so helpful and friendly. This hotel is a perfect central location for sightseeing and shopping and of course dining out. We would definately come back and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

We stayed at The Coach House as part of our trip around the UK. We absolutely loved both Chester and The Coach House. The Coach House could not be in a better position - right in the centre of Chester- with the Town Square in view from our huge room - a Premium room( I think). The room was beautifully decorated with a very comfy bed, nice linens, good bathroom, mineral water included, huge LCD TV, free internet etc etc. The staff were fantastic - very friendly and helpful! As the hotel is right in the middle of the city there is no parking but we were able to pay only 5pounds for a pass in a very convenient carpark just across the road. Be mindful if you do go to this hotel that you can't really stop outside so we just parked in a short term carpark around the corner till we got everything sorted - no drama at all. Food in the restaurant was excellent - both dinner and breakfast and in betweens. We walked out the door and there we were in front of one of the most spectacular cathedrals in the country - we were enthralled by the size and beauty of it! Chester is also great for shopping - even these are beautiful, especially the two level shops built in medieval times. Chester is also a walled city so you must walk around the whole perimetre of the city - absolutely gorgeous! Chester was definetly a highlight of our trip - partly because of it's charm and beauty but also because of the wonderful Coach House!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

This hotel is right in the heart of the city beside the Cathedral. The rooms are very nicely furnished & decorated. The staff could not be more helpful-they couldn't do enough for us. We were a group of 20 females on a hen weekend. We started our weekend with lunch at the hotel which was very good. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening but the breakfast was excellent.
Lovely hotel & very helpful staff. I would happily stay there again on any future visit to Chester.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We stayed for a weekend for birthday treat and found this wonderful hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful, rooms are absolutely amazing, veryt spacious and well maintained with a modern yet cosy feel. We ate in restaurant both nights and again the food was exceptional both in presentation and taste.
Would recommend this hotel amd will have no hesitation recommending to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We slept in the coach house only one night in the beginning of our tour through England. It was Friday. We had two rooms in the first floor facing the main entrance. The rooms were clean and spacious but we couldn't sleep at all because of the noise. You can hear people walking in the street, singing, laughing, talking until....
But this was not the worst part of our stay in this hotel. We had dinner in the restaurant and my eldest daughter and myself unlucky asked for fish and chips with tartare sauce.
Unfortunately this dish was in bad conditions and we both got FOOD POISONING, what ruined our holidays.
Just choose any other hotel if you go to Chester,
Thank you

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Address: 39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House provides luxurious, affordable accommodation in Chester city centre. The eight bedrooms have been refurbished this year to a high standard, providing comfortable, convenient accommodation for our guests.Located next door to the architecturally acclaimed town hall and opposite the famous Chester cathedral, The Coach House provides a perfect base from which to explore Chester and Cheshire. All rooms are non smoking with ensuite and have tea and coffee making facilities, colour televisions, direct dial telephones and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.