We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Coach House to your Saves list
The Coach House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fantastic value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we booked this trip on the last minute, for the bank holiday weekend, from start to finish everything was great, its was a great location, room was beautiful, breakfast was included, which wasn't the case for some of the hotels we checked out, the staff well what can we say all the ones we saw were all quite young, but brilliant, very polite, knew there job, which was nice to see, and big bonus free tea and coffee for your stay, never known before but it adds that that special touch for the weekend

Room Tip: we were to the side of the hotel, no problem with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for your feedback!
We very much enjoyed having you staying with us and are glad you enjoed your time here.
The feedback you provided us with was passed onto the staff that were working during your stay.
Thanks again, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    54
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
95
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Superb location, fantastic staff (special mention to Stuart the night time concierge) who are efficient, friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, well aportioned and to a very good standard. The complimentary beverages at the bar a very nice touch. Cost was very reasonable. What I noticed at the Reception desk was the number of people telling people they'd recommend to their friends and one chap was booking another visit. The breakfast was also of a good standard...of particular mention was the locally sourced bacon, a refreshing change from the vacuum packed Danish offerings you tend to get at most places. Should I return to Chester, I would book this hotel for my stay without checking anywhere else as it ticks all the boxes you want from a small city centre hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book room facing the main high street at the fron tof the hotel as the view from the back roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hello!

Sorry for such a late reply.

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time at the Coach House and we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Really good hotel, on arrival someone booking in front of me a waiter came over and said to take a seat and he would bring coffee over. Then receptionist came over and said we all booked in so really good first impression. Room was lovely and breakfast really good. Location really good and excellent value for money. I have never left a review for any hotel before but it us warranted in this instance.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for your feedback, especially when you have never left a review of anywhere else before!
We very much enjoyed having you staying with us and are glad you enjoed your time here.
The feedback you provided us with was passed onto the staff that were working during your stay.
Thanks again, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

From the moment we arrived to our departure our stay couldn't have been better. The rooms we excellent (2 superior rooms for 2 nights), the food and service were great, but of note were the staff, all young but all very customer focussed, professional and engaging!

I'd stay here again without a moments hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My Husband and I have just got back and could'nt wait to write this review. The staff were very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them. A special mention for Alishia she made sure our stay was a great one. The room was immaculate as was the whole establishment. We were pleasantly surprised as to the size of the room. The free Teas and Coffees inc Latte's was a great bonus especially when coming in from mooching around the amazing shopping facility's which are right on the doorstep, to sit in the comfort of the lounge / bar area with a free cuppa very nice. This hotel is in an ideal position for shopping, bars and resturants, also the hop on hop off site seeing bus stops outside. A great big thanks for a great weekend from
Pauline + Chris Room 2

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for your feedback and my special mention!
We very much loved having you staying with us and are glad you enjoed your time here.
The feedback you provided us with was passed onto the staff that were working during your stay.
Thanks again, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I went to Chester once again as my friend came from Portugal to spend a week with me and we decided to hit the town for some shopping.
Its been a year since the last time I came here to have an afternoon tea and I can guarantee nothing has changed, if anything it as only gotten better.
We had the afternoon tea, it was amazing, the cakes, which I believe were carrot and some sort of honey cake were the most delicious things I have eaten in years, and both me and my friend left full and happy that those cakes reminded us of something we used to eat as children back home.
To The Coach House, congratulations in keeping the standards, this place is my certain stop everytime I go to Chester because I know it can never go wrong.
Thank you for you delicious food and attentive staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Sunday lunch here with my partner was great.
Good value for money.
Staff very friendly.
excerlent suroundings right in the heart of Chester
I need to save for my next visit.
Thanks from John and Matt.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Address: 39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House provides luxurious, affordable accommodation in Chester city centre. The eight bedrooms have been refurbished this year to a high standard, providing comfortable, convenient accommodation for our guests.Located next door to the architecturally acclaimed town hall and opposite the famous Chester cathedral, The Coach House provides a perfect base from which to explore Chester and Cheshire. All rooms are non smoking with ensuite and have tea and coffee making facilities, colour televisions, direct dial telephones and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.