We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Coach House to your Saves list
The Coach House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
manchester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was my third visit to this charming hotel. The staff are very hard working and extremly helpful.
It is ideally situated for either shopping or doing all the lovely sights of Chester,
When we arrived there was a lovely log fire and all decorated for christmas and there was a lovely warm and friendly feel about this lovely hotel.
I have stayed in both the premier and standard rooms and they are all decorated and furnished to avery high standard. The only problem with room one or room five there is a very powerful light on the adjacent building which even in spite of the lovely heaviny lined curtains still shines in and keeps you awake perhaps a black out blind would help.

We were there this time on the £100 for two nights for two people bed and breakfast and this was excellent value for money. A wide menu to choose from at breakfast and something to suit everyones taste. This only works out at £25 per person per night where else would you be able to stay in the heart of the city in such luxurious spacious well appointed rooms.

We dined there on our second night for evening meal and once more there was a wide varied menu all cooked to perfection with a lovely selection of wines and cask ales and once more excellent service from all concerned.

my only critism is that they have now put two dining tables at the side of the lovely log fire and this has reduced the comfortable seating area if you just want to sit and relax after your meal.

Another plus side is that on production of your room key you can get a tea or coffee including lattee and cappucinos at the bar at no charge well done coach house!!

I stayed there in July as one of a party of nine and this was a 65th birthday celebration and we did experience one or two problems regarding the restaurant but on my return I contacted Elisha and she addressed the matter gave a very satisfactory explanation and offered a wonderful invitation for a complimentary meal on our return which we thought very fair. Well done to Elisha ,Dan ,and Christina for doing everything to make our return visit one to remember. We will certainly be back in the new year.

Room Tip: On the back of the hotel as it can get noisy as the clubs close in the early hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Carol and Roger

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind words of praise towards the staff. We welcome any feedback that will help our guests have a pleasant stay. We are looking into purchasing black out blinds for those rooms as we were unaware that the light was so bright, thank you again for bringing this to our attention. We were trying out a new seating area by the log fire but we have had the same feedback from other guests and this is now back to a comfortable and quiet seating area away from the bar. We look forward to seeing you in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    62
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
109
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was part of Sam C party and on our returned I e-mailed Eisher, management, who acted very professionally and quickly to resolve my poor experience, thank you. I have stayed at the coach house for the last 3 years celebrating special occasions & have never had experienced a bad stay before which is why I addressed the situation straight away. I will be returning in January, my choice, with friends and am confident that I will experience a fab time just as i have previously. Please note it was one member of the staff who was rude the rest were lovely and helpful, even making me a late coffee. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Chester.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and well decorated but the one's at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here last weekend & upon arrival i was very impressed, lovely atmosphere in the pub, room looked lovely.. despite the scaffolding up around the building! Had a lovely day shopping, came back on the evening & Music was playing VERY loud gone 12am!! So i struggled to get to sleep, then drunken people on the streets were shouting & arguing until very,very early in the morning then a group of people came back VERY drunk, shouting & singing..being silly! I finally managed to fall asleep & workmen directly outside our window started working & being very noisey at 8am!!!! So all in all, i had about an hours sleep!! Being pregnant & supposedly having a nice break away with my sister i was very upset with all this, its very rare i get to go away & was very much looking forward to this weekend away with my mum, her friend & my sister!! The workmen were right outside our window so we couldnt even open our curtains!! We decided to go downstairs to have some breakfast & the service we received off the staff was disgusting!!!! The waitress was very rude!! the teapot had broke & hot water leaked all over the table, our breakfast arrived & the scrambled egg was basically just milk with a few bits of egg floating around..NOT COOKED!!! as i said, i am pregnant & kindly asked the waitress to cook it a bit more, she marched up to the counter, in hearing distance of all the restaurant & told the chef i was "apparently pregnant & wanted it re-done" This embarrassed me & clearly upset me but i didnt react, my sister who is also pregnant with 2 WEEKS LEFT until the baby is due had a sausage that was pink/raw in the middle, very embarrassed she showed the waitress, who again marched up to the counter & told the chef it wasn't cooked, the chef who was very loud said it was cooked to which my sister got very upset & told him she would not be eating it as it wasn't cooked & she was not going to risk anything seeing as she only has 2 weeks left in her pregnancy!! She ended up not having any breakfast at all! My mothers friends sausage was also uncooked.. Breakfast was very disappointing, the staff were very rude & we will definately NOT BE STAYING HERE AGAIN!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Samantha

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us at the Coach House was not an enjoyable occasion with your family as it should have been. We are appalled at what we have heard and thank you for bringing it to our attention. We value our customer’s feedback and I can guarantee you that we have fully investigated the whole incident and have taken appropriate action to remedy it. We pride ourselves on ensuring our guests receive excellent service and take our complaints very seriously. We look forward to seeing you in January 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here on a Tuesday night as a mid week break in Chester. My wife and I were pleased with everything except our sleep, which was disturbed by the many comings and goings of other guests, passing revellers and early morning deliveries and bottle collections. I guess this is the price of staying in an old building in the city centre.

That said, the rest of our stay was faultless, the Coach House is a beautiful building, serving superb food and drink at great value. We took advantage of "the hundred club", a mid week special which for £100 gives you a well appointed double room with excellent facilities, a fabulous breakfast, two course gourmet quality evening meal and free tea and coffee during your stay.

The staff are outstanding, very friendly and nothing too much trouble. Dan, who looked after us on arrival, was like a friend you hadn't met before.

So, if you want a great value, quality hotel and eaterie right in the centre of Chester I reccomend the Coach House, just take some earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Another point to note is; expect to pay for car parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Could not be situated any better, bang in the middle of town. Overnight parking 2 mins away, staff were very pleasant and could not do enough to make our stay more comfortable. food was fantastic be prepared to be over fed, ale was excellent. It was graduation week ( really busy) but you would not of thought so as there was no delay with service at the bar or restuarant . Staff were very calm and professional at all times even though you could see they were soooo busy. The room was spotless, bed very comfortable also a safe in the room for valuables which was good too. Chester town centre is lovely to walk and shop around especially this time of year. totally spoilt for choice. Could go on more but ........ its a must to expereince for yourself.

Room Tip: I suppose a room looking over the town square would be nice but we are a couple that use our room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have eaten in these premises and, with family, have sat and had a few drinks in an excellent, well attended, atmosphere. You used to wander in, staff asked you if you wanted a drink or meal, now you walk in, staff see you, you tell them what you want. If you want to eat you sit at a sad bare table, no cruet, nothing, just the stains of last night drinkers. The staff are there, they used to supply meals, but now its soup and sandwiches. Our meals, booked on Neils terms, took 40 minutes to arrive, not when Neil was in charge. We had to ask for Salt & Pepper - "Full use of the Cruet" was the old Blackpool joke and the salt didn't work cos no one had put rice in to make the salt flow. After the sad meal we went into the lounge area, where we found two students doing their Course work in the best seats in the house, they had a pot of tea for two that they had finished about two hours previously, they didn't want or could not afford any more to drink, but paying customers had to see them do their paperwork. The bearded manager did not shift non paying these free loaders who spent ages piling through mounds of paper and making notes, the service was that bad that several customers had to ask if they would be waited on or did they have to go to the bar. I spoke to one member of staff who said that they were very sad, all the regulars had left and they wished that Neil would come back and get a grip. I have no axe to grind except this pub used to be great and "NEW MANAGEMENT" had taken over and its all gone wrong. Neil and his old staff knew how to run a pub. Its now crap and try the Commercial, no food but the beer and the Chardonnay are very good, just like this pub used to be. I am too sad for words. Crap mangement is crap management. I am not coming back.

Room Tip: The rooms are supposed to be very good, £85 Friday, £95 Saturday, £100 Sunday - but it may include d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear John

Thank you for bringing your complaint to our attention, we are sorry you had a bad dining experience with us on this occasion. We do take pride in ensuring that our customers receive excellent service and have taken your complaint very seriously. We have taken the appropriate action and would love for you and your family to return as a new Management Team are now in place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier South Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Coach House is a lovely building in a great location for exploring the beautiful town of Chester. Had a huge corner room facing the street. Bathroom was large and the bed was comfy. Only negative was the noise during the night (not the fault of the Hotel) so try and get a back room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Address: 39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House provides luxurious, affordable accommodation in Chester city centre. The eight bedrooms have been refurbished this year to a high standard, providing comfortable, convenient accommodation for our guests.Located next door to the architecturally acclaimed town hall and opposite the famous Chester cathedral, The Coach House provides a perfect base from which to explore Chester and Cheshire. All rooms are non smoking with ensuite and have tea and coffee making facilities, colour televisions, direct dial telephones and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.