We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Car park the only let down.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Chester City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Chester City Centre to your Saves list
Premier Inn Chester City Centre
20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £60
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Car park the only let down.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed last night great spot for having a look around. Hotel is exactly what a Premier Inn should be clean, tidy with friendly staff.

The only problem is there is no parking. The closest car park is a fair walk if you have a bit of luggage with you. Hopefully you are lucky enough to get a spot outside the front door to unload first.

All in all would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    442
    111
    23
    12
See reviews for
263
591
41
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

No complaints on room... But imagine if you turned on the TV and after watching 30 mins of a show it suddenly cut the sound and displayed a message asking you to spend 20 minutes fiddling with options and credit card payments to watch more! Well that's how the wifi works and for the last ten years Wifi has been far more important to me than a tv.

Because they are trying to squeeze 3 more pounds out of you for wifi it becomes a pain to use. Free for 30 mins, then in the middle of working Bang, it disconnects. Then spend 20 minutes trying to sign up, register, get through disconnected, reirected Paypal etc. all for 3 quid. I'd rather pay 5 quid to charity and get free wifi that just works. Wifi that just works, no logon, no redirection or proxy servers or registration. Come on Premier inn, 3 pounds to pee off your customers.

Ps. We're not all using Laptops with nice big keyboards. I need wifi on my phone and ipad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Chester City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service. Thank you also for your feedback regarding Wi-Fi, please be assured your comments will be passed to our Marketing department. Once again thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Booked room for two, was given a single one, so had to ask to change the room. New room (smelly though) had only towels for one ... so once again (cause there are no more phones in the rooms ... too expensive it seems) had to go down and ask at the reception for additional. As I was saying no more phones in the rooms, so if you have a problem (thank god I am still young enough and still able to move around quickly) then … best of luck. Windows blocked (hence the previous statement about the smell), so if you want a breath of fresh air, tough luck, you have to rely on the air-con . Bathroom with signs of mould everywhere: around the bath tub, the sink and especially the ventilator (filled with it)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Chester City Centre, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the races, fairly clean room, bed was ok too, shower ok, no noise from road or others that was a big plus.

Only let down was breakfast, the kitchen staff could not keep the hot food coming out quick enough and we had to wait in line.

Overall not that bad.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Used this Premier Inn for a one night stay to break our journey between Cornwall and the Lake District. It is the usual spotlessly clean and comfortable hotel you would expect for a Premier Inn and we were fortunate to have a quiet room at the back. We can't comment on the food as we ate in town. The only negative comment is that there is very limited parking and we had to park at the station which is a long walk away (and over cobbles in parts and we managed to break the wheels of our suitcase!). The town is well worth a visit, with beautiful Tudor buildings and roman ruins.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was unfortunate to be woken up at 2 am by a false fire alarm. If it had been real one would of course have been grateful, But a false one is hardly a Good Nights Sleep and one wonders if the Good Night Guarantee means anything. I don't recall having had a rebate yet.

However if it had been a real alarm, I would have more and major worries.
There seemed to be only one escape route - the front stairs of quite a spread out building with a small car park in a central atrium type space. Not a good idea if fire is a possibility.
If the fire had been near the front door the sleepers would have been trapped.
There were no verbal instructions after the alarm and the staff were far from impressive.
The fire engine duly came but again there was no announcement that the alarm was over. People just seemed to drift back.
Lessons must be learned.
There must be alternative routes out of the hotel to a marked Assembly point,
Staff need training, they should be provided with at least a loud hailer if not a full intercom installation.
The assembly point was across the road from the main/only exit, routing half asleep people across City Road. There should have been one member of staff guiding people across the street and directing any traffic.
There was no way of knowing if the alarm was limited to our room or if it was widespread.

I hope these views are of value and can be acted on.

RH Bond

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Chester City Centre, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was most concerned to learn of your recent experience with Premier Inn. Please be assured we take the safety of our guests very seriously , please can you email details of your booking to talktous@premierinn.com and we will fully investigate this matter with the Management Team. Thank you once again for taking the time to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed two nights on arrival was told that there was parking available in the hotels private carpark ** Very limited on space & other cars not parked in correct spaces. Very restricted & very difficult to manover a large car**.
Room only had one large towel & one small towel not big enough for the second person to use if they wanted to shower. After asking for another towel we ended up with four large bath towels in the room.
Stag parties use this hotel & as a result we were woken at 4:30am by them knocking as they returned to their rooms.
Breakfast would of been fine as it was help yourself although the restaurant staff kept taking away items for re-stocking whilst guests were trying to plate up a breakfast leaving people with cold food as they were waiting for bacon to return etc..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre

Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Chester City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.