We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you expect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Chester City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Chester City Centre to your Saves list
Premier Inn Chester City Centre
20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Chester
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Exactly what you expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the races, fairly clean room, bed was ok too, shower ok, no noise from road or others that was a big plus.

Only let down was breakfast, the kitchen staff could not keep the hot food coming out quick enough and we had to wait in line.

Overall not that bad.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    417
    99
    22
    11
See reviews for
247
543
37
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Used this Premier Inn for a one night stay to break our journey between Cornwall and the Lake District. It is the usual spotlessly clean and comfortable hotel you would expect for a Premier Inn and we were fortunate to have a quiet room at the back. We can't comment on the food as we ate in town. The only negative comment is that there is very limited parking and we had to park at the station which is a long walk away (and over cobbles in parts and we managed to break the wheels of our suitcase!). The town is well worth a visit, with beautiful Tudor buildings and roman ruins.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was unfortunate to be woken up at 2 am by a false fire alarm. If it had been real one would of course have been grateful, But a false one is hardly a Good Nights Sleep and one wonders if the Good Night Guarantee means anything. I don't recall having had a rebate yet.

However if it had been a real alarm, I would have more and major worries.
There seemed to be only one escape route - the front stairs of quite a spread out building with a small car park in a central atrium type space. Not a good idea if fire is a possibility.
If the fire had been near the front door the sleepers would have been trapped.
There were no verbal instructions after the alarm and the staff were far from impressive.
The fire engine duly came but again there was no announcement that the alarm was over. People just seemed to drift back.
Lessons must be learned.
There must be alternative routes out of the hotel to a marked Assembly point,
Staff need training, they should be provided with at least a loud hailer if not a full intercom installation.
The assembly point was across the road from the main/only exit, routing half asleep people across City Road. There should have been one member of staff guiding people across the street and directing any traffic.
There was no way of knowing if the alarm was limited to our room or if it was widespread.

I hope these views are of value and can be acted on.

RH Bond

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Chester City Centre, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was most concerned to learn of your recent experience with Premier Inn. Please be assured we take the safety of our guests very seriously , please can you email details of your booking to talktous@premierinn.com and we will fully investigate this matter with the Management Team. Thank you once again for taking the time to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed two nights on arrival was told that there was parking available in the hotels private carpark ** Very limited on space & other cars not parked in correct spaces. Very restricted & very difficult to manover a large car**.
Room only had one large towel & one small towel not big enough for the second person to use if they wanted to shower. After asking for another towel we ended up with four large bath towels in the room.
Stag parties use this hotel & as a result we were woken at 4:30am by them knocking as they returned to their rooms.
Breakfast would of been fine as it was help yourself although the restaurant staff kept taking away items for re-stocking whilst guests were trying to plate up a breakfast leaving people with cold food as they were waiting for bacon to return etc..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed on a Friday night having booked at the last moment. We were expecting the worst because we are not young, there were lots of young Friday night revellers staying and it was the day before Chester races. Perhaps we were lucky with the location of our room on the first floor but we heard no road noise - and we faced the main road - and no disturbance from other people.
The room was very clean and tidy and efficient and no frills - exactly what I would expect from Premier Inn. The air conditioning was also very effective.
My only gripe was the breakfast service which was extremely poor. The food was good but we hit the time when they were changing over from cooked-to-order to buffet service and we had to wait an age.
Otherwise the staff were lovely and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay, feedback about breakfast will be investigated. Thank you for taking time to write a review.
Kind Regards
Maria Stevens, Operations Manager, Premier inn Chester City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed here on business and would never come back. Whilst they did advise there maybe some road noise, my room at the front of the hotel had constant road noise all night. Also it was by the lift which again seemed to be in action all night.
I ate in the Thyme restaurant and the staff were more interested in the families that were in rather than me. The steak was over cooked and mostly gristle.
Staff were reasonably friendly but not at all interested in actually providing a service.
Room was as expected from a travel lodge.
Breakfast basic and boring.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Chester City Centre, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a couple of nights at the premier inn and are both really disappointed at what was once a really nice hotel has become, we have stopped here twice before, but unfortunately it was 3rd time unlucky! There were a lot of new staff which resulted in a lot of waiting and being passed from one person to another, the staff in the restaurant were nothing short of being completely unprofessional ( with the exception of Margaret who was always willing to help ) , after we had our dirty plates in front of us for over an hour I presumed I had become invisible! I'm hoping this is all just teething problems for all the new staff as it is ruining a hotel which used to be lovely, and we weren't the only ones to complain!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay at our hotel. We andeavour to deliver a high level of service in all our hotels, and we apologise that you did not receive this during your stay. Your feedback has been noted and will be duly investigated by the managment team at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Maria Stevens, Operations Manager, Premier inn Chester city centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre

Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Chester City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;