We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great standard you can expect from cafe rouge.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge - Chester

Cafe Rouge - Chester
29 Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1NG, England (Formerly Brasserie Gerard - Chester)
+44 01244 315 626
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 454 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $32 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great standard you can expect from cafe rouge.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Been he a couple of times both for lunch, the service was a little slow but the great quality of food made up for it. The Aubergine gratin is one of my favourite dishes from this brand and I asked for the herb and seed salad to be changed for a standard mixed salad and it came with eggs and potatoes for no extra cost it was delicious! Will be visiting next time I'm in Chester.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    91
    27
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cafe rouge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Consistently good food, attentive staff and warm atmosphere - great for a snack, a morning coffee or a bigger meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not too bad - just a fair experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I've been to Cafe Rouge for lunch on a number of occasions and mainly in Exeter, so having recently moved to Chester thought that we would see what it was like in the evening. The hostess greeted us and gave us a choice of tables - there was a nice cosy atmosphere (despite the couple behind us having an argument!)

We ordered drinks quite quickly and our waiter was attentive, if a little inexperienced and seemingly slightly awkward - not sure whether he was new to the role. We had garlic breadsticks to start, which were fine but I prefer Pizza Express' doughballs. For main, I had duck confit which was OK but average, the dauphinoise potatoes were a bit dry and lacking cream and seasoning. The cherry sauce was a bit overpowering. My partner had a fillet steak, which he asked for medium to well done - it was a little too well done. I had apple tarte tatin for dessert which was disgusting - the pastry base was fine and crispy but no sign of a thinly sliced glazed apple, it was a big jelly-like apple jam covering the top, so horrible and I didn't enjoy it at all.

We had a nice bottle of Sancerre but it was quite expensive for what it was really. We've had better meals for the same price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Quite good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Living abroad, I was unaware that Cafe Rouge was a chain restaurant. Chains are not my favourites. So, I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food we ordered. I had the duck which was good, but not stunning. The service was a little lackadaisical, but I can certainly recommend this restaurant as a decent second best when you can't get into a good local place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First In - Last Out!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Myself and my partner chose to dine in Cafe Rouge as it looked such a warm and inviting haven from the chill outside. The food was fresh and lovely and what started out as a casual basic meal around 5 pm, turned into us spending the entire evening in the lovely cosy atmosphere, ordering more starters after many more drinks and eventually being the last to leave the restaurant! I think it is safe to assume we thoroughly enjoyed our evening in this excellent and affordable restaurant:-)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Chester also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rouge - Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge - Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.