We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taster menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor

Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor 56-58 | Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
+44 (0)1244 324024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 409 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor, has held a Michelin star for nineteen years running ��� surely a record outside of London. Under the direction of Executive Chef Simon Radley the exceptional modern British menu changes seasonally and uses only the finest ingredients. The cellar is also renowned, having one thousand bins and a sommelier of prodigious knowledge. The dining room itself is as dashing as you would expect with comfy chairs, oriental carpets, fine woods, original artwork, ebony pillars and many-layered tones of gold and taupe. The service is distinguished by its warmth and professionalism. Top marks.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Taster menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband booked the restaurant as a surprise 25th wedding anniversay meal. I can honestly say that the 'experiance' was exceptional. The choice of breads (which were still warm), wine and all the courses were the best. The service was impecable from when we entered the restaurant to leaving. Each course was explained as it came to the table and the we had a detailed review of the wine also (totally enjoyed the professionaism). I woulsd definetly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    40
    21
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
southport
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A mixed bag.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We visited this restaurant recently and had the tasting menu.

There were a lot of positives from this meal but it must be judged against what are undoubtedly, rather high prices.

The amuse bouches and appetisers were average and didn’t excite for the meal ahead, the idea of whitebait in a paper bag surely needed to be rethought. The fish was soggy.

In terms of the actual menu, there were some very good/outstanding dishes, some average and one or two which just didn’t work. Particular highlights were the desserts and the Roe Deer. Lows included the “ham and egg” and the cheese course. The bread trolley is one of the best we have ever seen!!

Service was very formal but cannot really be faulted for this. I would of preferred a little more “humanism” it felt very much as though the waiting staff were reading from a script at times. They would ask how the dish was and then walk away whilst you tried to answer.

All in all, not a bad meal but nothing to write home about. At these prices, you can certainly do a lot better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Phenomenal - Best Meal We've Ever Had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife booked this restaurant for a surprise birthday meal and it was perfection. The service, food and atmosphere was spot on and we both agreed it was the best meal we've ever had!

We've had the taster menus at The Abode in Chester, Panoramic in Liverpool, Pecks of Congleton and Roux at The Landau in London but for us, this one tops them all. The restaurants I've just mentioned are excellent and close to perfection but for us, this one was perfect.

The staff were amazing and once we sat down in the bar area they served us our drinks and brought out some canapés, which were delicious. We were impressed with the food before we had even been into the restaurant!

Once we got taken through the service was impeccable - they sat us at our table and made us feel comfortable all evening. The service was hands down I have ever experienced at a restaurant - it was simply superb. I cannot overstate the quality of the service. For me the small things matter and the staff there were exceptional. We found the service at The Panoramic and Roux at The Landau lower than our expectations for restaurants of that quality, but this was no such problem at Simon Radley.

They also managed to get the food absolutely spot on as well. With 7/8 course taster menus there has to be a balance between the quality and the quantity of food. At Roux at The Landau, the food was very good but the portion sizes were far too small. Here at Simon Radley, the food was exceptional and there was just the right amount. At the end of the night we were comfortably full and very satisfied.

At £100 per head for the taster menu is it certainly one of the more expensive ones we have experienced but I have to say, it is definitely worth the money!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday dinner at the Grosvenor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Me and my family went to Simon Radley's restaurant to celebrate my 50th birthday. I am a chef so I was especially excited about it. First we were presented with a very good selection of freshly baked breads with salted and unsalted butter. I can't comment on the wines as I don't drink. Then followed by an amouse bouche. My son opted for the starter of frogs legs bon bons which were excellent. My wife had asparagus panna cotta which had an intense flavour of asparagus. I went for veal sweetbreads and lobster which surprisingly was a good match.

One of the main courses was pigeon accompanied with dates, a delicious meat flavoured brulee and a coffee sauce, was absolutely fantastic. Another main course was monkfish cheeks with a garlic sauce, octopus, and butter beans. The garlic sauce had the right strength and the cheeks were firm but not too chewy. The last main course was sea bream with a bouillabaisse sauce. This dish had an excellent presentation and the sauce was exquisite, my wife was glad they gave her a spoon so she could get every drop.

My dessert was caramelised pears served with tracing paper thin shavings of cheese and a mousse. Again surprisingly was a good match. My wife had wild strawberries, with a sweet pea vacherin (meringue), accompanied with a super delicious strawberry sorbet. Again, excellent presentation and who would have thought peas in a dessert. My son had chocolate cremeux with hazelnut praline and warm toffee sauce. It had salt crystals on top which brought out the flavours nicely.

The service was attentive, polite and not overbearing. The restaurant décor was classy but I think some refurbishment is needed to the ceiling. The chairs are very comfortable. My only grumble is that the tips should be left to the customer's discretion. Coffee and petit fours were served in an adjoining room. Cannoli and chocolate cigars were a pleasant surprise.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a fantastic place with stunning food and impeccable service. Overall fantastic eating experience. I'll definitely be returning

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor also viewed

 

Been to Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.