We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and excellent Halloween atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red House - CLOSED

The Red House
Sandy Lane | Dee Banks, Chester CH3 5UX, England
01244 320088
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $61
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Boasting stunning views over the neighbouring lake from the glass-concealed dining room, The Red House offers a sophisticated British menu with international accents. A state of the art restaurant in Chester, cutting-edge design throughout includes terraced decking pods, Andrew Muirhead leather furnishings, and cool LED mood lighting. The Red House is a fashionable local favourite for a refined 3-course meal, elegant afternoon teas, and sterling Sunday roasts.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent Halloween atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely steak and thrice cooked chips. Excellent service. Spooky atmosphere with skeletons hanging from the rafters and ghosts floating around the room.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    38
    27
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea with views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Spent a pleasant afternoon enjoying a cream tea. The experience is really made by having the views of the Dee right outside of the window.

Calm, comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place, gorgeous views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My friend treated me to afternoon tea at the Red House for my birthday. What a lovely place with gorgeous views down to the river.

The afternoon tea was great, very filling with loads of sandwiches and very nice cakes and scones! I saw some meals coming out to other tables and they looked lovely.

Good place for a drink and a snack and would even return to try out for a meal one weekend.

Thank you Red House, very enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, excellent setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We went as a group of 8 including 2 small children for sunday roast to celebrate a birthday. The staff were very helpful, the food was delicious, the service was quick and the restaurant setting and ambience were fantastic. It was a very enjoyable and relaxing experience overall. Would definitely go again and have booked already.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
“evening meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Most disappointed with meal. The menu we were given was not as extensive as the one shown on web site !!.
Quality and quantity of food very poor although it tasted ok. My starter was scallops which were luke warm and consisted of 3 small scallops with a half a thin slice of black pudding and a little greenery and sauce. At almost £10 this was very poor value.Another starter was garlic mushrooms on toast -it was literally that and looked like something which you would expect in a cafe not a restaurant.The duck spring roll was also poorly presented and the portion was small.
Three persons in the party had lamb shank for the main course. This tasted nice but was the smallest lamb shank we had ever had and we do tend to eat out quite frequently.
I had creme brulee for dessert and again it tasted quite ok but was only about 1/2 inches deep in the dish
It is also quite usual now to have a chocolate or similar with coffee but unfortunately this was not the case at the Red House
The restaurant is very smart and the views superb but that does not make up for the poor food
We had intended to visit again at the beginning of November but we shall ceratinly not do so now.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red House also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.