We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an amazing time !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Farndon

The Farndon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Farndon to your Saves list
The Farndon
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   51 52 High Street, Chester CH3 6PU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just an amazing time !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed overnight before riding the Etape de Cymru. I simply cannot recommend The Farndon highly enough. The staff and owners were helpful above and beyond, most if not all, the hotels I have ever stayed in, nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely and the bed really comfortable. We enjoyed a great dinner with lovely waitresses. Thank you so much , Yvonne and Michelle

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
22
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We didn't stay at the Farndon but ate there twice whilst staying for a week in a local self-catering house. Two of our party are coeliac, and I had called in the previous evening to enquire whether the Farndon would be able to supply a gluten free meal. I was very impressed that when we arrived the next evening to eat, the waiter recognised me and knew that we needed gluten free food. All the food is made from scratch and the staff were extremely helpful in checking ingredients - we were able to order with confidence. The food was delicious (especially guinea fowl in tarragon sauce with fruity rice!) and the service professional but friendly. We returned for another meal 3 days later, and again had a very good experience.
Full marks for lovely food and very good service - we coeliacs really appreciate it when the staff are fully clued up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from another night at The Farndon while we went to Cholmondeley Pageant of Power.
This must be our fourth or fifth visit here now. Yvonne and Michelle really know how to look after people. Great food in the evening, good local beer and a marvellous breakfast in the morning.
We took friends with us this time and they enjoyed it too. I can't wait until we find an excuse to visit here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went to tapas night with friends - great choice and very tasty indeed - lovely flavours
Staff attentive and so helpful
Fantastic value
Lovely atmosphere and very relaxed
Shame didn't have the champagne choice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a great hotel in a lovely location. Stayed for five days and nights - room was excellent with all mod cons including wi-fi. Food was great both in mornings and evenings - fantastic range at dinner time. Staff are really helpful also. Would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Don't judge a book by its cover. The outside appearance may look a little tired but it's the inside that counts. From the moment we arrived and throughout our stay we were made very welcome by all the staff. Our room (we had the Stretton) was lovely and clean with modern decor and being a decent sized room, too. The en-suite bathroom was large, very clean and modern, with lovely thick soft towels, plus the addition of towelling robes, too. We had only booked the one night but, as we were so impressed by the time we were having dinner in the restaurant that evening, we asked if we could extend our stay to two nights. Fortunately they were able to accomodate us, and keep our same room, which saved the fuss of having to decant all our stuff into another room.
The hotel is situated very close to Chester (about 15 mins by car) in a quiet village just up from the river Dee, and was in an ideal position for us to visit both National Trust properties at Erddig & Chirk Castle.
We would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends and would have no hesitation in staying here again if we return to the area. Thank you, Michelle, Yvonne & Gordon, and all the staff for making our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: From our experience, we would expect them all to be of a similar standard. We had the Stretton room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

On our arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome from all of the staff who are very attentive and friendly. We were promptly and efficiently shown to our room which was bright clean and comfy with big fluffy towels and dressing gowns. After a nice hot shower we went down to the bar where we ordered wine and a pint of guest ale which was brought over to our table by one of the happy staff. We ate in the restraint where the service was superb and the food was amazing, even my nut allergy was catered for with care and attention by the chef. Staff more then happy to help with a cheery attitude.
Thank you all for a great night at The Farndon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Farndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farndon

Address: 51 52 High Street, Chester CH3 6PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Farndon 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Farndon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Farndon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.