We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great last minute break !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holly House Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Holly House Guest House to your Saves list
Holly House Guest House
1 Stone Place | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great last minute break !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Very welcoming and brill last minute choice. All aspects could not be faulted. Easyy walk into town - very quiet room and location. Breakfast just great ! We had twin room which was quite cosy but did the trick.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    42
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
81
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, North Yorkshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We needed a chill out weekend where we could walk to amenities and we got just that. We received a warm welcome (included delicious home-made scones) and had a comfortable room. Decent power shower too! Position was good, handy for shops, pubs etc, but good for a quiet nights sleep as it's off the main road. Would re-visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Stayed in the annexe with my wife and 4 year old daughter for our short break in Chester.
Received a lovely warm welcome,and was immediately impressed with quality of accomodation.Fresh milk and homemade scones on arrival was a nice touch.
Breakfasts were excellent and service was very prompt.
Right near bus stop so getting into Chester easy
Wouldn't hesitate in booking here again and will recommend to all wanting a place to stay in Chester

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

A warm welcome, with everything you could need provided, including fresh milk, chocolates and a pot of tea and scone on arrival. The room and adjoining bathroom were spotlessly clean and we were given clean towels twice in a three night stay. Excellent breakfast choice, food freshly cooked and very hot. The only criticisms: would have preferred toast to have been crisp & the pillows could have been better quality, but were still comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

This is one of the best B&B's i've had the pleasure to stop at. We arrived early and were greeted at the door by Marina who showed us to our room and provided a very welcome tray of fresh coffee and home made scones with butter. The room was clean and well furnished with lots of little extras like bottled water, chocolates, loads of sachets of tea, coffee and hot chocolate as well as chocolate biscuits, cotton buds, cotton wool balls, tissues, a sewing kit, dvds and even a book to read in the bedside table. Instead of the normal tiny sachets of shampoo and shower gel there were full sized bottles in the bathroom, all Marks & Spencer brand, so not cheap. The towels were fluffy and clean and there was even a bathrobe provided in the wardrobe. It was only about a 2 minute walk to the local shops and about 15 minutes to the centre of Chester, which is a fantastic city with lots of unique shops as well as the normal high street ones. Breakfast the next morning was glorious. Marina makes fresh fruit salad and marinates her own fruits, the apricots were lovely, also on the buffet table was yoghurt, cereal, and fresh juices. There were lots of choices for breakfast but I chose the full english which was hot and cooked to perfection with quality ingredients, followed by toast and home made preserves. I didn't need anything else to eat until the evening!
If you plan to stay in Chester look no further than Holly House. Marina has thought of everything to make sure you stay is as warm and welcoming as possible.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

I would highly recommend Holly House to anyone. Marina is an excellent landlady and made me feel so welcome. The 'extra little touches' really made my stay memorable - such as the hand written welcome card and pot of tea and scone in my room upon arrival. My room (a single en-suite) was more than adequate for my needs. The bathroom was very small, but as I was only staying for the one night this was not problematic. The room had all I could need; tv, dvd player, a selection of dvd's, tea making facilities, and even an extra heater if I was cold. The bed was so comfortable and I had the best nights sleep! Breakfast was lovely; a selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, juices, toast, and a selection of cooked items (I opted for the full english to set me up for the day). I can't fault Holly House at all and will definitaly be returning.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

my fiance and i visited chester for valentines weekend and were so pleasantly surprised with everything that holly house offered
marina is such a friendly landlady yet not over imposing as some can be
we ordered an afternoon tea on arrival and it was beautifully presented and tasted so good!!
the annexe that we stayed in has everything that we could possibly need and the added extras provided were very welcome from fresh folwers to a selection of cds and dvds to a well stocked hospitality tray and fresh milk provided in the fridge
the location is only 10 minute walk to city walls and in ideal position for a quiet peaceful nights sleep and the bed was so comfy"""
we would not hesitate in highly recommending holly house to anyone and cannot praise marina enough

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holly House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Guest House

Address: 1 Stone Place | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holly House Guest House, an award winning guest house located in Chester. This 1850's house has been tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished, and is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac within a short walk to Chester City Centre, and close to all visitor attractions. Chester has to offer, ie Chester Zoo and Cheshire Oaks Retail Outlet village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Holly House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holly House Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.