We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the service that sets this place apart from other B&Bs.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holly House Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly House Guest House
Save
You added Holly House Guest House to your Saves list
1 Stone Place | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's the service that sets this place apart from other B&Bs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Smart, clean, guest house. Terrific breakfasts, especially blueberry pancakes. Mercedesz extremely welcoming and hospitable, she was always interested and made us feel like our custom was valued. It was lovely to be offered tea and coffee on arrival. Would definitely recommend.

Room very clean and comfortable. One minor quibble is it could do with new pillows.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    42
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
81
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The best guest house we have ever stayed at. A short walk into the lovely city of Chester. We had the annex and the charming Mercedesz and her boyfriend were fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble. And breakfasts were simply faultless. Would deifinitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The annex is great, just like a family apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Have stayed in a few places on Hoole Rd, but this place has got to be the best!! Location proved to be great...only a 5 minute walk to the train station and about 10 to the city centre..A few pubs around the corner and a nice Chinese restaurant opposite. The owners were the friendliest and most welcoming of all the places we have stayed in and we shall without a doubt stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Travelling with a 10 month old can be easy but not when night time screeching cld alienate the rest of a household - fortunately holly house was a find and a half!! The annexe couldn't have been better for us. Space to spread out, for baby to practice his crawling and a fridge which was a godsend!

We loved our stay, everyone mentioned the scones and they couldn't have been more welcome (or tasty!) Mercedes was a star and certainly had a fan in 10 month old Tobie. We liked Chester, fab tapas place recommended by Mercedes and if we go back this is where we'd stay. It's so central, easy to get into or out of Chester. Such a lucky find.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed with our family of three in the cottage Holly House provides for two nights. Location was very good, close to the city centre and also in a very nice upmarket area. Mercedezs helped us booking bikes and arranged a lovely picnic basket for a days outing on the countryside, which the whole family enjoyed. The scones she made in the afternoon were delicious, and our daughter loved the blueberry pancakes for breakfast. Both Mercedezs and Balazs welcomed us in an excellent way! We can truly recommed Holly House for anyone going to Chester.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hoasts is what made Holly House so special. The little things, like, a welcome card, chocolate's etc in your room. The breakfast is absolutly beautiful. Rooms and house were spotless. Mercedez and partner are the best hoasts we've ever had, including 5 star hotels we've stayed in and meny B&B's. We will be staying there again in the future!!

Thank you Mercedez and partner, you were wonderful,
See you soon hopefully, Rhodri and Tracy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at this lovely relaxing place and was offered the annexe situated to the rear of the house and what a treat that was. The customer service was great and the homemade scones were a treat. It's a shame we missed breakfast but we'd most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holly House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Guest House

Address: 1 Stone Place | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holly House Guest House, an award winning guest house located in Chester. This 1850's house has been tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished, and is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac within a short walk to Chester City Centre, and close to all visitor attractions. Chester has to offer, ie Chester Zoo and Cheshire Oaks Retail Outlet village. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holly House Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.