We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As all B & B's should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holly House Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly House Guest House
Save
You added Holly House Guest House to your Saves list
1 Stone Place | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“As all B & B's should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Holly House. We were made really welcome, with home-made scones and fresh coffee on arrival. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. Close enough to central Chester to walk in and ample parking. Breakfast was delicious, though we do like beans with a full english, but that's entirely a preference, not a criticism. We look forward to staying again sometime.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    42
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
81
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The best guesthouse we have ever stayed in!
Hosts are very welcoming, friendly and caring people. We were greeted by Kate who brought tea, coffee and delicious, home-made, cherry scones to our room. We stayed in Room 2 which was very nice, tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was extremely rich and besides the cooked breakfast it included home-made bio yogurt, dried fruits, fruit preserves, different types of cereals, orange juice, apple juice and milk. We also liked the home-made marmalade and strawberry jam. Full English breakfast was amazing!
We had a great stay!
Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Lovely hospitality and warm welcome.I loved the blueberry pancakes which were beautifully served with lots of blueberries and golden syrup. My husband had a full English breakfast that contained very good quality Cumberland sausage.
Very friendly and helpful service. We will certainly recommend this guest house to anyone

Ann and John

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights as we were attending a family wedding. It was a wonderful choice and we couldn't find one single fault with the room and the service we received. Breakfast superb. Room warm and very well equipped.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My daughter and myself stayed for one night. We were made very welcome by Kate who brought tea and scones to our room when we were settled! Our room was very comfortable,clean and well equiped. The guest house is in a quiet location with parking and only a 15 minute walk into the city centre! Lovely breakfast with plenty to choose from! My only regret was that we only stayed one night! I would certainly recommend a stay here and we will return!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at the Holly House Guest House for my 30th birthday with two friends. It was difficult to find somewhere that had a room for three and this guest house was perfect as it had an annex which had room for three. The annex is like a little converted house in the back yard of the guest house.

When we arrived and saw our annex we were delighted! There was a double bed, a kitchenette and a single room with a shower room as well. There was a tv with digital service, a DVD player and even a supply of DVDs.

The kitchenette had a huge supply of tea, coffee and even hot chocolate! There was a fridge, a microwave, sink but no cooker.

The beds were exceedingly comfy and we all had a great nights sleep. We had some tea and home made scones which were delicious! Kate is a truly amazing cook! Breakfast was an amazing part of the day. There was a choice of continental, cooked or say what you want breakfast. Having eyes bigger than my belly I had a three course breakfast. I was well and truly satisfied but the most almighty part of breakfast were the blueberry pancakes. Words cannot do these justice - I just have to say they are to die for!

My two night stay here was comfortable, warm and I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Absolutely lovely stay at Holly House. We arrived at 2pm and were greeted with tea and homemade cherry scones! very nice. Our room was a twin room and although we didn't have an en-suite shower we did have a toilet and wash basin and the shower was just next to our room and was still for our private use.Kate had told us beforehand that our room didn't have a shower en-suite so we knew what to expect. The tea and coffee making facilities in the room were great and the beds were very comfortable and clean.
We could park free of charge in a safe place and Chester is only a 10-15 minute walk away.
Kate brought maps to our room and advised us of the best restaurants and pubs to visit.
All in all a fantastic guest house with a great hostess, would definately stay here if we visit Chester again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holly House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Guest House

Address: 1 Stone Place | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holly House Guest House, an award winning guest house located in Chester. This 1850's house has been tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished, and is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac within a short walk to Chester City Centre, and close to all visitor attractions. Chester has to offer, ie Chester Zoo and Cheshire Oaks Retail Outlet village. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holly House Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.