We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelodge Chester Central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Chester Central

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travelodge Chester Central
Save
You added Travelodge Chester Central to your Saves list
St John Street, Chester, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Chester
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Travelodge Chester Central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

a very well positioned hotel right in the heart of Chester city centre. two minutes from the main street with shops, cafe's and pubs all within walking distance. the hotel itself is manned by very efficient and friendly staff who are available for advice any time. the rooms are well maintained and the bedding and towels changed daily. although the rooms are economical, what you get for your money is first class. we have stayed here on a number of occasions and would definitely recommend it as a port of call.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    47
    33
    11
    10
See reviews for
23
52
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Pro: Excellent location in the city. Clean, comfortable basic room. Staffs are professional and offered to provide more teas/coffee or towels if we needed. Excellent value for money for a family room.

Neutral: No onsite parking which I was made aware during booking. Nevertheless the NCP parking is a few minutes walking distance and we received 20% discounts as a Travelodge guest.

Cons: The sound proofing is very lacking. We were awoken by loud chatting and slamming of doors around 4am in the morning.

Cons:

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just back from a single night stay to get us in the Christmas spirit. Once again there is nothing to fault with Travlodge. Clean, tidy rooms and efficient, friendly staff.
We took advantage of the 20% discount for guests using the Pepper St. NCP car park as there is little or no street parking in the city centre.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this travelodge on a Sunday & Monday night in November. Never again, the place (rooms), service are great, very clean & comfortable, the location is also very central which is very convenient but with this comes the noise of the bars. Both nights we were kept awake until early morning (4am, this is no exaggeration) due to the bars & clubs kicking out. The windows in the Travelodge seemed to block absolutely no noise what so ever! I can even begin to imagine how noisy it would be closer to Christmas or Mid summer! A throughly exhausting trip, next time we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located in a good location. However, the windows could be soundproofed better. Also putting a smoke detector with two bright flashing LEDs directly above a bed was a very poor decision, it prevented me from getting a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found the Travellodge after a number of visits to Chester. Hotels were getting very expensive to stay. The staff showed me around and gave me information on booking. I was more than pleased with the building, its rooms and facilities. It overlooks a beautiful part of the town. Right opposite is a restored Roman Amphitheatre, the local park and the Church of Saint John the Baptist (you can catch a free concert each Wednesday there at one oclock.) Walk through the park to the river and the squirrels will accompany you all of the way. Travelodge prices are very attractive and reasonable and the staff are wonderful.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have been here twice now in the past 3 months, The first visit they put me on the 2nd floor overlooking the Roman Amphitheatre and as a Historian and part time Tour Guide this was very much appreciated. The Second visit I was put at the back of the hotel and was on a road that contained 2 pubs. Considering the location. A city and a road with pubs it was still a quiet enough stay. Already booked for a Third stay in January.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Chester Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Chester Central

Address: St John Street, Chester, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chester Central Hotel Chester
Chester Travel Lodge
Chester Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Chester Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.