We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always reliably good food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Thai & Teppanyaki Restaurant

Siam Thai & Teppanyaki Restaurant
32 City Rd, Chester CH1 3AE, England
+44 1244 403222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 411 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $10 - $56
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always reliably good food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great location above the canal, suitable for any kind of dining I think.
Food is always very good, have been many times.
Atmosphere needs to effort as it's always busy - what more do you need when you have good food, good service and good location?

If you visit the Teppanyaki then the entertainment is provided as part of the experience - personally, I prefer the Thai but for a night out with a group, it's fun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    166
    31
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great good, great atmosphere, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Booked with the intention of doing something different, and it didn't disappoint. Great selection on the menu, great service in a great building. The chefs on the hot grill were skilled and entertaining, fun and social. The food was cooked well and was tasty and filling. Yes, it's not the cheapest meal but well worth it for the quality and fun!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the Best Restaurants in Chester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

There are two parts to this restaurant which I will review separately:

Teppanyaki - great for a large group meal; the performance with the food is good fun and it all tastes good. I wouldn't recommend this if you have strict dietry requirements due to the cooking process used (one plate), unless you speak with the restaurant in advance.

Thai (upstairs): I keep coming back here; the service is very good and the food is great. If you are in a small group I would recommend this over the Teppanyaki because it is a little more intimate, saying that the set menu for groups is great for a meal that you want to last the whole evening. If you want value for money, the early evening menu is very reasonable. There are a huge range of dishes available and if you contact the restaurant in advance they will advise you on what is suitable for your dietry requirements.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“tasty but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Really tasty food, good quality and a lovely atmosphere with excellent service, but very overpriced in my opinion. Will be trying somewhere else next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton in Furness
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hmmmm, tad pricy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Went here as it looked interesting.
The restaurant is on two levels of what looks like an old Mill of some sort back in the day, (Possibly textile)

The bottom half is 'Teppenyaki' and apparently is a mix of Japanese and European cooking which is cooked at your table, the second floor is Thai and is what we decided on.

The room is quite large and, even on a Tuesday night, was quite busy but you didn't feel cramped or invading anyone else's space, the atmosphere was pleasant.

The food was very good however three prawn skewers (each with three tiger prawns) a small salad and chilli dip whilst very nice, doesn't in my opinion justify a price of 7.95 just for a starter?

We had one bottle of wine, nothing fancy just a Zinfandel but at 19.50 for only two glasses out of it (that's ONE EACH not two) again seems pricey.

All in all I'd recommend it as the food, service, and atmosphere are good but just be prepared to pay a little more than the norm.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam Thai & Teppanyaki Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Siam Thai & Teppanyaki Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Thai & Teppanyaki Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.