We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find - a one off experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oddfellows

Save Saved
You added Oddfellows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oddfellows
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Lower Bridge St, Chester CH1 1RS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 45 hotels in Chester
1 review
“Great find - a one off experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Our trip was really made by the chap who greeted us when we arrived. We couldn't fault his enthusiasm, welcoming, co operation and service he really made our stay personal. We weren't originally happy with the size of our room and without question he showed us others available and made sure we were happy - running backwards and forwards numerous times for us with no complaint. Really lovely welcome. Place itself very interesting and original decor. Fantastic food in restaurant and great cocktails. Attic room was fabulous

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    71
    25
    13
    8
See reviews for
18
172
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Really nice hotel with fantastic rooms. Only a continental breakfast is included but other than that I don't think you can complain about this place. Rooms had only recently been done and heard from the staff that the owners were interior designers. I'm a property developer and have to say they've done a fantastic job throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

What an unusual place, traditional entrance hides stylish boutique hotel with funky rooms and "odd" selection of rooms and furniture. Staff were very good, food not cheap but a nice "edited" menu we all enjoyed. The wedding party on the night we were there were having a ball and the bar and terraced inner courtyard was buzzing. Must be good for Chester to have such a venue

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had our wedding reception at The Oddfellows on Saturday and the day was just perfect! Nothing was too much hassle for any of the staff and they were so attentive and friendly. The rooms were beautiful and made our stay extra special. The food was amazing and there were many empty plates at the wedding breakfast. Anyone looking for a relaxed, stylish yet quirky wedding venue this is the place!!!! Thank you Mr & Mrs Palumbo.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Blink and you will miss the entrance, a set of steps between the shops, at the top of the steps you will find a quirky and unique hotel. The bar is straight on through has different areas with a different feel for a bit of privacy and allows you to suit your mood or occasion. The pied music is a little loud for my tastes but another another guest with the same issue asked the friendly barman to lower the volume and it was done straightaway - much better!. There was a garden area with seating further through which looked nice it was just a little chilly to try on our visit. Coffee from the bar tastes good but the froth on top needs a little work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Oddfellows the night before and the night after our daughter's wedding. The wedding took place in the hotel and the experience was fantastic from start to finish. We were treated courteously and professionally by all of the staff, they couldn't do enough for us. The wedding breakfast food was spectacular, it was very tasty, superbly presented and the waiters and waitresses were very attentive and kept topping our glasses up at all times.. Our room was a loft bedroom we had adequate space, although the wardrobe was a little lacking as it was not long enough to hang up my dress so I had to hang it off the mirror. We had a double shower in our room which worked wonderfully but the toilet was a little inconvenient for my husband as it was in a cubby hole under the eaves and he couldn't stand up in it. This is just one of the little minor inconveniences that you get in a very old characterful, converted building. Everything was spotlessly clean and I thought the coffee machine in the room was a very nice touch. There was also a kettle if you wanted tea and there was a generous supply of tea, coffee and sugar and also a small carton of milk which was enough to make several drinks for the two of us. The decor in the room and throughout the hotel was very fun and quirky. The garden area was lovely as was the roof top garden. It was a little like being Alice in Wonderland as the more you looked around the more you saw how unusual the design and decor was. The unexpected is everywhere There is even a table and chairs and standard lamp hanging from the ceiling in one of the rooms, everything is slightly surreal but this is a good thing as it means Oddfellows is a completely unique experience. I think this is really a young persons' boutique hotel. However as a middle aged couple we truly enjoyed the experience from start to finish. Would I recommend this hotel to my friends? As a party venue yes I would, it is very lively and being in the city centre can get a little noisy at the weekend. If you want peace and quiet I don't think it is for you although it might be quieter during the week when there are no partys going on. To sum things up - Oddfellows made our family wedding a very special occasion from beginning to end. The staff are very friendly and professional but not intrusive at all. A very special weekend was enjoyed by all of our wedding party. A big thank you to everyone at Oddfellows.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Oddfellows truly a unique hotel.
Our room was beautiful, unusual clean and well appointed. Absolutely what we were expecting and more.
Just one problem which ruined the experience and I can only warn others and hope they take note. (Unfortunately we didn't listen to the reviews on Trip Advisor)
At check in we were asked for the now infamous pre authorisation payment ours was £75 on top of the £250 a night rate. We accepted the receptionist explanation and that the £75 would be returned to us on checkout.
Checkout was an experience I have never experienced travelling all over the world.
We were again asked for our debit card which we did in the belief it was to pay the correct amount and receive our £75 as we had been informed on check in.
Then our card was declined twice as £333 had been debited from the account and they were trying to remove another £263 thus the room would have cost £596 for a night. The gentleman on checkout allowed us to use their computer to show him the money had been debited to the hotel at which point he had to phone another hotel to find out how to get our money back. At this point we had been trying to check out for nearly an hour the receptionist told us we could leave and assured us our money would be reimbursed that day.
Unfortunately not, four days later, numerous ignored emails, promises of returned calls which never materialise, persistently obnoxious, rude staff speaking to me as if I was stupid in particular a woman named Bronte I can only say if she worked for my company she would neither be allowed to answer a phone nor engage with any customer, we finally received our money back.
It is such a shame as the hotel is truly special and up until checkout we had enjoyed the experience but the staffs attitude after they had our money has really soured a special birthdays memories, from reading others experiences this attitude seems prevalent throughout their staff team.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oddfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Address: 20 Lower Bridge St, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Oddfellows 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings.The design of the bedrooms is inspired by Architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, Cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley-our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant, and The Secret Garden-a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oddfellows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.