We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stephen & Kerstin's Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quarry Bank Mill

Quarry Bank Mill
Quarry Bank Road, SK9 4LA, England
44 1625 527468
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 171 attractions in Cheshire
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Quarry Bank Mill and Styal Estate- The 18th century Mill, Apprentice House and Gardens provide the setting for a fantastic visit. Gaze in amazement at the mighty steam powered waterwheel, take a tour round the enchanting Apprentice House to get an insight into a mill-child’s life, listen to the roar of the machinery in the mill and get closer to nature in the beautiful gardens. In addition to these attractions, we have miles of woodland to explore- perfect for a walk in all seasons!Pop into the Mill Restaurant to enjoy a snack or main meal, made with delicious local, seasonal food or picnic on the mill meadow. For a special treat, why not book one of our function rooms and a bespoke menu tailored to your groups needs? Quarry Bank at Styal is a day out to remember.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stephen & Kerstin's Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My son & his wife recently got married there fabulous wedding venue,great location catering team excellent all food local sourced . Lots of compliments & positive feedback from the guests a great day was had by one & all ! The only negative comment would be the need for extra lighting outside the venue upto the car park rather dangerous at night due to insufficient lighting.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    55
    14
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Santa's grotto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Took our two boys aged 8 and 6 to meet Santa. We had to wait about 10 minutes but since we were in part of the old mill there were things to look at and talk about during the short wait, including Santa's list of jobs for the elves and lists of 'naughty' and 'nice' children. (luckily our boys' names appeared on both lists!) Santa himself was a lovely jolly man, exactly as he should be, sat beside the fire in an old fashioned room. He didn't appear to be in a rush and listened carefully to what they asked for. At the end of the visit the boys were given presents (one got a wooden train whistle and pencil and the other got a wooden pop gun and pencil) and home-made biscuits. We thought it was great value for money- £3 per child. There was ample time to take photographs and there wasn't the commercial aspect we have experienced elsewhere. Outside the carol singers, roasted chestnuts and staff dressed in Victorian costumes all added to the experience. Well worth the money!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Surprise, surprised, and much more to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I left the National Trust simply because there were very few attractions in the locality of our domestic residence.

Since we have moved to Greater Manchester we have now rejoined and by registering online and paying by direct debit, we have been given a 25% discount for the first year. So as a couple we can enjoy the NT sites for £69 for 12 months. Now we are not purporting to be salesman for the NT but this is very good value.

Our first venture was to Quarry Bank Mill where we spent a very enjoyable two hours plus without looking at the mill, the Northern Woods, the Gardens, and other areas that were closed.

Walk(s).
There is a very pleasant walk south of the mill. This takes you past the children's play area and the steep weir. The path continue's past the mill pond and skirts the river to the Southern woods. Lots of activity in this area primarily in the conservation of fish so not all of the grounds are accessible. Plenty of visible wildlife can be seen so please take a camera.

The walk among the tall pines and beech trees was fascinating as you seemed to be deep in rural England, until you heard a jet take off from the nearby Manchester International Airport!

Food
We made our way back to the mill and after visiting the spotless toilets we had some light refreshments. My wife had a black forest gateau slice and I had a piece of pecan, cranberry and toffee cake. We shared a flapjack (wicked liquorice taste). Our drinks were cappucinno and a pot of tea. Cost £10.45 and well worth it. Staff were very helpful.

Northwards
We took a downward pebble path in a westerly direction but this was slippery and signposted as such. This ascended into woods via a steep path and the army of workers in the garden opposite could be observed. We then encountered private land but our footwear was inadequate to venture further so we returned to base. Wellingtons or hiking boots would have be required to continue further.

Shop
We had a good look at the shop and my wife bought one or two items. Some products were expensive, yet others appeared to be very reasonably priced.

Satisfaction value
You could come here in Summer and make a full day of it, as we plan to do. We did not see any of the mill, the gardens and other areas. Car parking is free for National Trust members

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great place! Better than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I loved the mill and the apprentice house. The displays are very interesting and the staff is very helpful, they answered our questions. Many machines are still working, so we could have a glimpse of the working life at the mill.

The apprentice house was lovely to visit. The guide was very enthusiastic and he told us a lot of things about the life of the workers.
I didn't knew about the tv programme The mill, but after yesterday's visit, we've decided to search it.

My husband and I are NT members, so we had free entrance. But I don't think the entering price is expensive, considering how nice is the place. I would recommend it and we'll visit it again in the summer time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Apprentice House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It is several years since I have visited Quarry Bank Mill, and the Apprentice House in particular, but the recent TV programme "The Mill" made me keen to visit it again. We were met at the front door by Kate, dressed in a skivvy's outfit, and shown into the School Room. It was dark and cold, exactly what the apprentices would have endured all those years ago. Kate was extremely knowledgeable and kept us captivated for the whole of the 40 minutes we were in the house. These apprentices lived in luxury compared to those employed by other mills in the area but seeing what they had to endure was still quite shocking. This is a fabulous venue to visit and is ideal for children and adults alike although I don't think children under 7 would really understand it. You have timed visits to the house so there are not too many people on the tour at the same time, which makes it more personal.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quarry Bank Mill also viewed

 

Been to Quarry Bank Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quarry Bank Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Quarry Bank Mill to your Saves list