We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved in quality and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hathaways

Hathaways
Seigneurie Gardens, GY10 1SF
01481 832208
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 17 Restaurants in Sark
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Norwich
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Much improved in quality and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I agree with some previous reviews of Hathaways (which is not in Guernsey, but Sark!). Last year we felt that prices were high. This year the couple who are running it seemed to have struck a great balance with the prices. We visited here three times in a fur day visit - two lunchtimes (when we had just sandwiches which were very good indeed) and one dinner when we went for a light meal after having been out for lunch at Stock Hotel (also in Sark). We were actually tempted more to dinner that a 'light supper'!
There was a good selection of dishes on the menu, plenty of local ingredients and produce. I had a crab salad 'to be picked' which was served with a lovely fresh salad, not really a test of the skills of the kitchen but it was delicious none the less. My wife had Camembert (baked) which was delicious and a chicken main course. Deserts (3 x apple crepes recommended by the French waitress (the restaurant is run by a French couple)) were washed down with a complimentary calvados.
If you are adding these reviews please do note that the has been a change of management since c.2012 and in my view the criticism levelled at high prices is now out of date, certainly when you consider the local averages.
I recommend for couples/families at anytime of the day - very welcoming and eager to please.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    10
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were staying in Sark yet again and had enjoyed Hathaway's when Harvey was chef there. After a disappointing experience of being ignored for 15 minutes in another bistro we decided to go to Hathaway's under new management. We are so glad that we did. The setting is justly famous and we sat outside in the evening sunshine, immediately welcomed by the two charming French staff. I had the best whole crab I have had in a restaurant - as opposed to "pick your own" - and my wife, disappointed the scallops had all gone, was delighted with the seabass recommended as an alternative. We drank cold Stella as the sun went down and the poire belle helene and coffee finished off nicely. We enjoyed it so much that we went back for Sunday lunch and the scallops were excellent, seared and served with a timbale of rice and the best Hollandaise sauce I have ever eaten. Highly recommended and not surprisingly one of the busier restaurants during a quiet season.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostende, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“honest and good food. Desserts were absolutely fab.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

we went back 3 times in 2 days, that says enough! I was even sorry I couldn't taste the lasagne anymore because we were going back again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sark, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Fab food, fab location. First visit this year. Very good menu, just the right amount of choice without being OTT. We will be back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Next to the Seigneurie gardens is this little tea room and restaurant, named after the famed 'Dame of Serk (Sybil Hathaway); great service, wonderful, fresh food, and quite affordable. Recommended

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hathaways also viewed

Sark, Channel Islands
 
Sark, Channel Islands
 

Been to Hathaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hathaways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.