We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful lobster lunch in the garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sablonnerie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Sablonnerie to your Saves list
La Sablonnerie
La Sablonnerie Hotel, GY9 0SD   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“wonderful lobster lunch in the garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

says it all really, we had a wonderful lazy indulgent lunch,
i was here back in 2001!
charming place and staff, & hostess Elizabeth is a gem...

we had lobsters, salad new potatoes plus pan fried fresh mackerel to start and 3
of the lovely deserts, some of the best i have had in recent times...

3 bottles of nice wine and a dessert wine plus coffees and it was £80 a head (not bad considering we pushed the boat out a bit for a lazy summer lunch)

cant wait go back and spend a night or two in the charming old fashioned hotel

Room Tip: had lunch only
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    27
    1
    8
    11
See reviews for
63
168
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Forest Row, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you like first class and friendly service, outstanding food idyllic surroundings, then I'd thoroughly recommend La Sablonnerie on Little Sark. We spent 4 nights there in July (2013) and spent the days walking in the amazing surroundings of Sark. It was always good to arrive back at La Sablonnerie each day and enjoy the peace and pampering - away from the relative bustle of 'big' Sark! Spent 3 out of 4 evenings dining in the manicured garden. our thanks to all the staff especially Elizaeth, Nigel and Jeeves. We shall certainly return again.

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon suite (room 14) - wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at La Sablonnerie last week for 3 nights and it was absolutely wonderful. The staff, led by Elizabeth Peree and her brother Philip, are superb; nothing is too much trouble and everything is carried out to perfection - from the tray of tea and biscuits brought to the room first thing in the morning to the late night tipple in the comfy chairs in the bar in the evening. Our stay could not have been more enjoyable and combined with glorious weather and the idyllic setting it was the perfect end to our 2 week holiday in the Channel Islands.

Room Tip: Ask for the 'honeymoon suite'!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

we turned up on a whim for the night. It was magnificent. We will come again. A special thanks to locals Alan, James and Gwen for unforgettable discussions over great wine and the gardener for taking the time to tell us about the beautiful plants. A perfect break.The causeway view (coupée) to little Sark and the night sky will be with me always

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Tucked away in Little Sark, close to some of the best short walks on the island, La Sablonnerie is truly unique. If you like old-world courtesy and charm, then this is the place for you. With its extensive beautifully manicured gardens, delicious food and impeccable service – all majestically presided over by the flamboyant owner/manager Elizabeth Perée, the “Queen of Sark” – it is one of the two remaining independent hotels on Sark, the rest having been bought up and upgraded by the controversial millionaire Barclay brothers, who built a fortress-like castle on neighbouring Brecqhou which they apparently seldom visit. The milk comes from the herd of Guernseys kept on the neighbouring farm by Elizabeth’s brother Philip and is wonderful, as is the butter and cream. If you want to get away from it all for a few days for a really relaxing holiday, La Sablonnerie is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had not visited Sark, or Law Sablonnerie, for many years, but when I stayed there in June this year, I was delighted to find the same combination of a friendly atmosphere and high professional standards I remembered of old. All the best features were still in place; a warm welcome, friendly staff, a comfortable bar and room, a delightful garden, and if anything the food was even better. And all this is set, of course, in the unique surroundings of little Sark. Anyone seeking a peaceful relaxing break combined with high quality food and accomodation would be hard pressed to find anything better. Long may it remain so.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have just returned from a two night stay at La Sablonnerie. A last minute booking and we were so lucky to get it. Delightful room, beautiful gardens, delicious food and excellent service. Our room was kept in perfect condition all day and night until we went to bed with wrapped hotties to welcome us. Our bags were picked up at the harbour by a delightful man called Philip and dropped to the ferry on our return. The surprise and joy of Little Sark was the peaceful surroundings of cows, cut hay meadows, barley crops, stunning coast line, clean sea, wonderful walks and nice people. But most of all PEACE. So a big thank you to Elizabeth and Philip. We will return. Clare and Richard.

Room Tip: We were in half of one of the cottages. Absolutely quiet. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Sablonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sablonnerie

Address: La Sablonnerie Hotel, GY9 0SD
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the magical charm of La Sablonnerie, a hotel of rare quality situated in the southern part of Sark, even more beautiful, remote and romantic than the rest. Unspoiled and scenic, it is a haven for lovers of peace and tranquillity. Nestled in the lovely award winning gardens(Sark Midsummer Show 2012) this oasis of hospitality has an enchanting air of simplicity and sophistication. The bar is a convivial meeting place with a roaring log fire. Savour a gourmet luncheon or dine romantically by candlelight. Excellent cuisine, including fresh Sark lobster and produce from the farm and gardens. Own horses and carriages. A truly amazing experience. Don't leave the Channel Islands without visiting Sark and Little Sark.It will be an experience that will live with you forever. Birds, Butterflies and Flowers - SARK - How could one not enjoy this beautiful paradise? A stepping stone to heaven. An hotel with a real 'joie de vivre' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your La Sablonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sablonnerie Hotel Sark
La Sablonnerie Sark, Channel Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sablonnerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.