We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sablonnerie

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sark
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Sablonnerie
La Sablonnerie Hotel, GY9 0SD   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Sark
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have just returned from a two night stay at La Sablonnerie. A last minute booking and we were so lucky to get it. Delightful room, beautiful gardens, delicious food and excellent service. Our room was kept in perfect condition all day and night until we went to bed with wrapped hotties to welcome us. Our bags were picked up at the harbour by a delightful man called Philip and dropped to the ferry on our return. The surprise and joy of Little Sark was the peaceful surroundings of cows, cut hay meadows, barley crops, stunning coast line, clean sea, wonderful walks and nice people. But most of all PEACE. So a big thank you to Elizabeth and Philip. We will return. Clare and Richard.

Room Tip: We were in half of one of the cottages. Absolutely quiet. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    21
    1
    8
    12
See reviews for
47
150
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

What a very special place Sark is and a stay at La Sabblonnerie Hotel is an idyllic experience !stayed here to celebrate my birthday (60th) enjoyed and appreciated the attention to detail and the high standards. Some soft background music in the Dining room would have enhanced my Dining experience as the gaze of so many waiters was a little offputting.Standard of meals made from quality local ingredients was superb!a very memorabe stay- thank-you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Staying at La Sablonnerie on Little Sark is a complete experience, not just a comfy room for the night, though it is that as well. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast package for three days and enjoyed excellent food, friendly and helpful, traditional style service, an attractive and very comfortable suite. Suggestions,advice and maps were provided for sightseeing. Luggage handling to and from ( and onto and off) the Sark ferry was a tremendous help and we enjoyed a horse and carriage pickup and transport to the hotel. A very special holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We came to the Sablonnerie by accident, looking for somewhere to stay during the Sark Folk Festival. It seemed to me to embody all that could be good in a hotel while leaving out the naff bits; you won't find a telly, there's no WI-fi, your room won't have a key. There are no tea making facilities (this I did miss slightly, preferring to imbibe caffeine before facing the world). But this hotel will teach you why you don't need or indeed want these things.
The service is excellent - beds made while we were at breakfast, hot water bottles on the one remotely chilly night of our stay. The staff are excellent; the owner, Elizabeth, is a famous local character, unmissable with her upper class accent and rather theatrical manner. It's an old building set in immaculate gardens, in Little Sark, the southerly section of what Mervyn Peake called this "wasp wisted island". A carriage will bring you from the top of the Harbour Hill, though you will have to dismount while it crosses the infamous Coupee.
The food is excellent; most guests opt for half board and get a gourmet evening meal.
If you like Sark, you will like the Sablonnerie. Just three nights recharged our batteries thoroughly.

Room Tip: It may be that the rooms within the original building are better than the outdoor cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We spent a week end in late June 2013. When we arrived we found we had been upgraded to a much larger more comfortable room. Elizabeth the owner was very helpful and so was the hotel personnel in showing us around and telling us where to go and what to visit. The food was excellent with a five course dinner meal that was very tasty and offered many choices, the wine list was varied and the prices reasonable. My daughter enjoyed the lobster menu of locally caught seafood. La Sablonnerie is the place to stay in Sark if you are looking for quiet, there is no internet and the phone signal can be uneven, as there is no pool, there are no screaming children and being in little Sark you are away from most other visitors who stay in Big Sark. It was very pleasant after a long day walking and exploring being welcomed in the bar with a nice drink and a fire. I recommend the Sablonnerie warmly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Having not been to La Sablonnerie on Little Sark for 3 Years, due to other travel, we soon realized why we loved this Hotel so much, the warm welcome at the Harbour by Philip followed by a stroll through the peaceful country side to the Hotel, then a friendly greeting by the Staff was a perfect start to our 3 day break. What followed each evening was unbelievable, probably the best food we have ever been offered, carefully served with quality wines at very reasonable prices. Both my wife and I would wholeheartedly recommend La Sablonnerie to the most discerning traveler, we doubt if anyone could find fault with this charming little Hotel, we cannot wait to go back later this summer.

Room Tip: All rooms are charming and clean, but are really individual, ask for details before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawtenstall
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is one to which guests return year after year. It is family owned and run.The surroundings are quiet and peaceful and the island scenery is beautiful. There are many walks on Sark and Little Sark and no cars are allowed on the island The views are stunning.A member of the family meets the boat at the harbour and transports the luggage by tractor across the island to the hotel.Guests either walk or cycle or travel by horse and carriage which can be ordered in advance to meet them at the top of the harbour hill.The journey across the island takes about 3/4 of an hour depending on the inclination of the horse.The hotel is comfortable and guests are assured of a warm welcome from the owner Elizabeth Perree.. The food is excellent.This year the food was even better than usual.We have already booked to go back next year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Sablonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sablonnerie

Address: La Sablonnerie Hotel, GY9 0SD
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Sark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the magical charm of La Sablonnerie, a hotel of rare quality situated in the southern part of Sark, even more beautiful, remote and romantic than the rest. Unspoiled and scenic, it is a haven for lovers of peace and tranquillity. Nestled in the lovely award winning gardens(Sark Midsummer Show 2012) this oasis of hospitality has an enchanting air of simplicity and sophistication. The bar is a convivial meeting place with a roaring log fire. Savour a gourmet luncheon or dine romantically by candlelight. Excellent cuisine, including fresh Sark lobster and produce from the farm and gardens. Own horses and carriages. A truly amazing experience. Don't leave the Channel Islands without visiting Sark and Little Sark.It will be an experience that will live with you forever. Birds, Butterflies and Flowers - SARK - How could one not enjoy this beautiful paradise? A stepping stone to heaven. An hotel with a real 'joie de vivre' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sablonnerie Hotel Sark
La Sablonnerie Sark, Channel Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sablonnerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Sablonnerie to your Saves list