We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gibsonfamily88 responce.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sablonnerie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Sablonnerie to your Saves list
La Sablonnerie
La Sablonnerie Hotel, GY9 0SD   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salisbury
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gibsonfamily88 responce.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

My family has visited La Sablonnerie many times in the last 20 years and the tea gardens has always been our favourite part of the trip. From the fresh lobsters at lunchtime to the gorgeous cream teas, I could not fault anything. Bryan who manages the tea rooms always ensures that every guest has an enjoyable experience, and is one of the sweetest people you would ever have met. The set up of the indoor tea room is in-fitting with Sark and its culture, and if you do not like this then you are going to the wrong island. Please please don't let that one review change your trip or make you think anything bad of La Sablonnerie because they are obviously extremely difficult to please. It is a beautiful place and will be a holiday you will never forget.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    27
    1
    8
    11
See reviews for
63
169
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Cant understand the comments made on this review. Have been to the tea garden on numerous occasions and have never yet been disappointed,the food (of all types) has always been excellent and the service of the highest standard.I can only guess,but if the waiter refered to was Brian who is actually the manager then i am certain he did not respond to the complaint in the way suggested, i have always found him to be most courteous and to go the extra mile to ensure you enjoy your visit.Everything at the tea garden,as on Sark in general is produced locally,and cooked or baked fresh every day.This party are either extremely difficult to please or just plain ignorant of how things work on this island. Please all you potential visitors do not let one biased opinion put you off visiting the lovely tea gardens and the most genial and welcoming of hosts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We decided to walk over to Little Sark to be able to enjoy the famous 'Sark tea' in the Sablonnerie tea gardens, however after a disappointing tea the walk back was not quite so pleasant. Apart from the choice in tables and chairs the gardens are beautiful, however due to the high wind we opted to sit inside which felt more like a cluttered front room than a peaceful tea shop or quaint bar. A trolley was within the bar displaying several choices of cake, clingfilmed on to individual plates and we were given a menu showing what else was on offer. We opted for cream tea and a few slices of cake to share amongst the group. The pot of tea arrived promptly with real Sark milk and extra hot water. The scones followed shortly with strawberry jam and cream. Although the scones were pleasant it is doubtful they were homemade. It was the cake that was truly disappointing-all three slices were clearly stale and therefore very dry, they also had a what can only be described as a 'fridgy' taste. Needless to say- we did not eat them. When we politely mentioned that the tea and scones were pleasant but the cake was stale the waiter walked over to our table and ate some infront of us- he then abruptly said "if you don't like it, don't pay for it". We can only add that it is a real shame because the grounds have such potential.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I have stayed at the Sablonnerie a few times and am pleased to say I still return again and again. The owners are delightful; a local family, who are keen to please and serve their guests in every way. I have stayed in a few rooms and they do vary quite a lot, so its best to ring and check where your rooms is and the facilities it has, and that they suit your needs. The honeymoon suite is gorgeous - a room on its own in the garden with an enormous bed and great sitting area. The lunches in the summer are fabulous - you sit outside in the beautiful garden and eat lobster, and drink wine all afternoon - what could be better. If you go for dinner, watch out for the sloe gin kicking in on the cycle ride home, but if that's all there is to complain about, then I think its pretty good. Its true the hotel doesn't have the mod cons that a lot of other similar priced hotels might, but it more than makes up for it in charm, beauty and friendliness.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I stayed at La Sablonnerie in mid September and had one one of the most peaceful and relaxing holidays I have ever had. A beautiful setting. Wonderful food, and the company of regular visitors who have been returning over many years. I hope to do the same. By chance I met Elizabeth Perree on arrival at the harbour and she discovered I had just stayed in a large hotel with a small room on Alderney. She she offered me the cottage at no extra cost so I could stretch! An example of the wonderful way they treat their guests. A lovely place to stay.
David T

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Imagine a hotel that is more like a small village of tidy, white cottages within a beautiful garden. A garden with colourful flowers and quiet corners to retreat. Imagine there is no tourbus or taxis or cars but the carriage driver Tina and her horse George who take you there or show you this wonderfull island. Imagine there is no reception desk were you have to fill out forms just to get an electronic keycard but Phillip and Nigel who welcomes you like an old friend. Imagine the best food with fish and lobster right out of the clear turquoise ocean around Sark or an unbelievable tender shank of lamb or what ever your heart or stomach desires. Imagine there is no "hotel manager" but Elisabeth who personally takes care of your wellbeing and when i told her that i wanted to make pictures of the sunrise ... she was there to wake me up and show me the sun coming up the quiet pasture behind our cottage.
Imagine all that and you have the LaSablonnerie at Sark. Elizabeth Perree and her team really created a paradise on this hidden corner of the world. It's clean, it's tidy, the staff is warmhearted and friendly, the food is just excellent and if i were a professional hotel or restaurant tester i would award this place more stars then there are in the nightsky of sark.
WE LOVE THIS PLACE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Have just returned from our third visit to this hotel and once again found the food and service to be first class. We were very well looked after and nothing was too much trouble. A very quiet and relaxing week on a lovely island. We hope to return in early May to see the spring flowers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sablonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sablonnerie

Address: La Sablonnerie Hotel, GY9 0SD
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the magical charm of La Sablonnerie, a hotel of rare quality situated in the southern part of Sark, even more beautiful, remote and romantic than the rest. Unspoiled and scenic, it is a haven for lovers of peace and tranquillity. Nestled in the lovely award winning gardens(Sark Midsummer Show 2012) this oasis of hospitality has an enchanting air of simplicity and sophistication. The bar is a convivial meeting place with a roaring log fire. Savour a gourmet luncheon or dine romantically by candlelight. Excellent cuisine, including fresh Sark lobster and produce from the farm and gardens. Own horses and carriages. A truly amazing experience. Don't leave the Channel Islands without visiting Sark and Little Sark.It will be an experience that will live with you forever. Birds, Butterflies and Flowers - SARK - How could one not enjoy this beautiful paradise? A stepping stone to heaven. An hotel with a real 'joie de vivre' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your La Sablonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sablonnerie Hotel Sark
La Sablonnerie Sark, Channel Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sablonnerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.