We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIG MISTAKE TO GO THERE !!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of restaurant SAN MARCO La Motte Street Saint Helier

restaurant SAN MARCO La Motte Street Saint Helier
10 La Motte Street, JE2 4SY
+44 (0)1534 737568
Improve this listing
Ranked #278 of 297 restaurants in Jersey
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
“BIG MISTAKE TO GO THERE !!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The worst Italian meal we have ever had. The starter of scallop wrapped in bacon was literally a thick breakfast rasher draped around one scallop and a couple of soggy salad leaves for garnish. My husband chose ravioli in a mushroom sauce for his main course, when this arrived it was some ravioli swimming in a horrible mud coloured liquid. My dish was ragu which again instead of a rich mahogany sauce, was a watery liquid with, I think sausage meat, rather than proper beeef/pork. The waitress seemed surprised when I asked for parmesan cheese and black pepper. We also had garlic bread which was a flatbread slice with raw garlic over it. A truly awful meal and the prices were on a par with the other restaurants round about.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

17% Recommend
    2
    1
    0
    2
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Trip, soured.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant with some friends on a recent trip to Jersey. Only had a few nights so thought we'd try different cuisines each night. We got the Italian choice wrong. Not only did it take an age for our meals to start to appear(everyone else had left by now?!) but we were served uninspiring food. To begin, my salami, which contained no Salami. When we asked about it, was told it doesn't say salami on the menu. It very much does say Salami-chef did seemed stunned when he read his own menu! It was a selection of hams.
We stayed for mains, not too sure why, and were served up more disappointments. Some missing parts mentioned on menu, some poorly executed. Was a shame, although chef was pleased with his work. Did leave a bad note on our trip, even though the other restaurants were faultless in my eyes. Sadly the bad experiences are the ones that stick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Avoid this restaurant at all costs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A group of 10 of us were staying in Jersey for the weekend and thought we would try this small Italian restaurant around 9pm on a Sunday night. We were told that we could be seated in 10 minutes and that there would be no problems catering for the ten of us. We were duly seated in ten minutes and should have realised from the multitude of spelling mistakes on the menu that we had made a mistake. However we ploughed on and ordered a selection of starters and mains. 45 minutes later the first of our starters arrived. THe "selection of Italian Salami" on the menu turned out to be some packaged parma ham and a couple of other hammy meats, clearly all packaged. The Bruscetta was cold bread with cold tomatoes and barely melted Mozzarella on top. The Scallops were clearly not fresh despite the chefs protestations and only the prawn cocktail looked anything like it should. Again, we should have learnt at this point and just left but, because of the late hour we ploughed on. The mains came out - a selection of errors again - steaks over cooked, pate not provided with one dish as per fireman_mack's review. Finally the last main course came out minus the potatoes where we were told that they weren't quite done yet so he'd send them out in a minute. We complained - again - and the chef came out to see us explaining that all the food was fresh so therefore sometimes it took longer and wasn't all ready in time!!! By this point the restaurant had also run out of beer of any description (we had only had one each) and so we couldn't even have a drink to drown our sorrows and disguise the flavour of some of the food! It was truly an awful experience and so we asked to see the chef at the end and told him we weren't happy paying full price for the meal. We now await the outcome. Do not eat here! Despite a friendly waitress the chef/manager is clearly incompetent and deluded and the quality of food is poor. Such a shame to end our stay in jersey on this note.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Give this one a wide, wide berth!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

After a sail across from Guernsey 10 of us were in the mood for some good food and wine in a pleasant atmosphere. St Helier was quiet about 9.00pm, whether it was because it was the night before Liberation Day (8 Mat 2013) or whether we went to the wrong side of town is unsure. The only place we could find open was this one. As we sat down the owner began with his excuses. "There will be a long wait as all food is cooked fresh, even the pasta." That seemed fair enough. when we asked how long the owner then got shirty, "If you want fresh you have to wait, if you dont want to wait that's up to you.

We waited, we ordered and we waited again. Another table of what must have been regulars came in, ordered, ate, and left before we had finished our starters,

As for the food. If the scallops were fresh, I am a chinaman. They were like rubber. The Cream of Mushroom soup had neither cream nor mushrooms. We were sat near the kitchen and during the starters we heard the microwave repeatedly ping!

The pizzas were small, overcooked and with little topping. The sea bream, which we were told was "straight from the boat and not even to the market", was not fresh at all.

During the meal, the owner was leaning on the bar swigging beer from the bottle. We were glad to get out of there, even though it had cost a pretty penny. On the way back to the boat some of us nipped into McDonalds to get a burger.

I cannot find anything good to say about this place. Food, service, value, atmosphere and attitude were extremely poor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We all enjoyed our evening at San Marco. There were a few typos on the English translation of the menu (the funniest being Smashed Cikllies aka Crushed Chillies) but when pointed out to them, the staff took this in good humour! We ordered a mixture of pasta and pizza dishes.
The service was friendly, prompt and the food was delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed restaurant SAN MARCO La Motte Street Saint Helier also viewed

 

Been to restaurant SAN MARCO La Motte Street Saint Helier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage restaurant SAN MARCO La Motte Street Saint Helier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.