We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous Portions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Farm House

The Farm House
La Route du Nord St. John, JE3 4AJ
+44 1534 861697
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #199 of 306 Restaurants in Jersey
Cuisines: British, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: A beautiful old farmhouse offering restaurant quality food in a cosy environment – perfect for couples, groups and family functions.The Farm House has undergone extensive refurbishment and now offers a welcoming and cosy restaurant and bar with a large alfresco area in the heart of St John. On the same site there is L’Auberge du Nord, which gives the taste and feel of a traditional Jersey pub.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Generous Portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

A warm welcome and yet another different menu from this small chain of island restaurants. We have tried three of them to date and found them all to have a charm of their own. Each different and individual. We were not dissapointed. Very generous portions and superb quality.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Having lived on Jersey for nearly 5 years and a regular to the Boathouse and Beachhouse, we tried with visitors to the island the Farmhouse..Three ordered rib eye steaks and one ordered the roast beef special........all three steaks had so much fat in them that 50% was uneatable and the roast beef arrived so thickly sliced and cold with hot gravy poured over! After complaining and the waitress seeing what was left on our plates we disputed the food, and paid the bill. The manageress did give us vouchers to compansate a poor meal (after a lecture on how good they were) but this could have been avoided with better butcher sorry Farmhouse we will stay west .........

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Over in Jersey for a short trip, we tried the Tree House, which we loved, and so decided to stop by the Farm House for lunch.
Our experience was lovely, the service was great, had a good bit of banta with the waitress, she made us feel very at home and welcome and also answered a few tourist questions we had.
Food was also lovely and pudding was amazing! Banana cake (which was a bit more cheese cake like, but AMAZING!)
Would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“NIce lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Sorry to read other not so positive reviews. I felt welcome, had a very nice al-fresco lunch. Found good quality in food (try their ribs) and service provided. I would go back there again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoatHouseGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Farm House, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It is incredibly important to our staff, who work very hard, to see their work rewarded in this way. We hope you had a lovely holiday in the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Let's the Boat House Group down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This summer we have been regular vistiors to the Boat House and Beach House and have always had fabulous evenings. However, for a family birthday we decided to try the Farm House and all I can say is that it let the rest of the group down. The food was not great and the waiting staff were incredibly rude. For instance, we asked them to order a 7 seater taxi to get us home at the end of the meal and they ended up booking us two five seater taxis without warning us, therefore meaning we would have to pay double the fair to get home. We then queried the staff about this, asking for a telephone directory and the outside door was shut in our faces. We will never visit this establishment again and do NOT recomend this to anyone.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoatHouseGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Farm House, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed both The Beach House and The Boat House and we thank you for your great custom. We are sorry your experience at The Farm House was let down by an issue involving staff and taxis. We will certainly look into this on your behalf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farm House also viewed

 
St. Brelade, Jersey
 

Been to The Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Farm House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.