We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location & excellent personal service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Braye Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Braye Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Braye Beach Hotel
Braye Road, GY9 3XT   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alderney
Newbury
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stunning location & excellent personal service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights with our friends who plan to get married at this hotel next year & we can see why they chose it. The location is perfect right on the beach yet 10 min walk to the centre of town where you can find more restaurants etc if you want to venture out. The food in the hotel is fantastic, the whole place is well dressed & immaculate & best of all the service is personal. We were looked after from the moment we arrived in fact it felt like we were staying at a friends luxury beach house rather than a hotel I was tempted to wear my pjs down for breakfast but I didn't want to scare the other guests!
Richard really looked after us, I'm pregnant so couldn't eat certain foods but richard made sure I was always looked after & even brought me a hot milk one evening when we got in from a night out.
The place is so relaxed, breakfast outside on the terrace overlooking the sea was beautiful & there were plenty of cosy places to chill & read a book. The rooms & bathrooms were lovely (excellent power shower!) I could not fault the place in any way, I am surprised it's not a 5* I certainly can't wait to return!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Pupa29,
Thank you for your scintillating review, I can't wait for your return when you will be able to eat and drink whatever you want to your hearts content, my this is going to be a wonderful wedding,
following my adage of come as a guest, leave as a friend. You can see I have just had nine days away.
Cheers
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    32
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
58
227
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

It was me and my husbands first trip to Alderney and it certainly wont be the last! On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by Richard who made us feel most welcome and Rachel (lovely young receptionist) showed us to our gorgeous room on the top floor overlooking the beach and harbour, it was an absolutely breathtaking view even though the weather was a bit cloudy on the first day. The room was spotless, bright and comfortable with coffee, tea, biscuits and fresh milk in the mini fridge. There was also fruit and bottled water. We stayed five nights and had dinner in the restaurant every evening apart from one, it was gorgeous each time with a varied menu and food to make your mouth water! On our second day (Sunday, also the best sunniest day) we had the roast beef at lunchtime outside overlooking the sea and I can honestly say it was one of the best roasts I have ever tasted, good quality food cooked by a really great chef! Each morning we would go down for breakfast which consisted of yoghurts, croissants, cereals, fruit juices etc., all laid out on a large table so we could help ourselves then we would choose from a varied menu which included a full english breakfast, smoked haddock, salmon, kippers etc. The wonderful breakfast really set us up for a day of walking and sightseeing around the beautiful island. The staff (waitresses, waiters, receptionists, cleaners) were friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble, Richard always made us laugh with his sense of humour! a little bit like my own I must say! Will miss him waiting on me for breakfast lol. Thank you Richard and all your staff for making our mini break fantastic!! see you next year :)

Room Tip: Our room was a dual aspect room and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Mrs T,
thank you so much for your lovely review, it was charming and I read it whilst in London and it was great,
I will let all the team know what you said,
Please will you and Mr T return soon.
Cheers
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Well what can l say that hasn't been said already!!
Richard and his staff at Braye Beach couldn't make you feel more welcome if they tried, it was my first visit to Alderney but was made to feel like a regular visitor from start to finish.
The hotel offers nothing but the best in all aspects. Rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The food was to die for and the staff were just the icing on the cake. Real value for money
Thank you all for an amazing few days and hope to see you in the not too distant future.
Chris Breslin

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi Chris,
thanks for your splendid feedback, looking forward to your return.
cheers
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My first trip to Alderney in years and my husbands first time. lovely hotel with great, friendly staff, very tranquil. After being fog bound in Guernsey for three hours we eventually had the most amazing weather. Very clean and tastefully decorated hotel and would definitely go back again

Room Tip: Choose a premium room with views over Braye beach, you can open your window in the morning and liste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Country-Girl,
Great to receive your review , thank you for taking the time;
See you soon,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Recently had the pleasure of visiting Alderney on business and stayed at the this fabulous hotel with extremely comfortable rooms, beautifully presented, great menu choice, very efficient staff and an excellent Manager who looks after everyone in a very professional manner yet friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Great location for a lovely break to relax and unwind or to hold business meetings in a lovely environment. Would also recommend it for families as it is attached to the beach. Wonderful!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Kim,
Thanks for your wonderful review,
Do come back soon
Thanks Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

It all starts at Southampton. Mark meets, greets,takes your tickets and walks you to plane. Anne meets you in Alderney and Richard and staff are all there at the hotel to make sure you have the best weekend ever. Nowhere in the world is that personal, that relaxing and that special. We felt as though we should have been celebrating but we were just de-stressing on the advice of a friend. The food in the Braye Beach was amazing not just in the restaurant but at any time throughout the day on the terrace, in the lounge perfect. All the staff at the hotel are expert at their jobs, we had most contact with Delphine who never stopped smiling and was a wonderful hostess. Richard certainly knows how to deal with customers and on an island where life can change with the next gust of wind he has the patience of a saint. Forget the motorway network of our charming Isle, England and head over to Alderney with flight Aurigny and stay at Braye Beach at any time of the year not just in the sunny months and you will have experienced something forever memorable.

Room Tip: Platinum or platinum plus -a sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Alyson,
I was wonderful having you to stay at Braye,
Thank you for your charming comments about your trip
Cheers
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Another fabulous long weekend at the Braye Beach Hotel. After the recent storms we were blessed with sunny days, albeit cold evenings! The hotel, manager, staff, room and food are all wonderful. Highly recommended. We will be back...... x

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Jean
It is always lovely having you both to stay, look forward to seeing you soon.
Thanks Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Braye Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braye Beach Hotel

Address: Braye Road, GY9 3XT
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Alderney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alderney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without doubt the most luxurious hotel in Alderney, the stunning Braye Beach Hotel has one of the most spectacular views you could wish for, standing picture-perfect on the edge of Alderney's finest sandy beach. This stylish and elegant hotel offers the highest standards of food, accommodation and personal service. With the style and elegance of a luxury small hotel, the finer points of hospitality come as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Braye Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braye Beach Resort All Inclusive
Braye Beach Alderney
Braye Beach Hotel Alderney, Channel Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braye Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.