We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dip into history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alderney Museum

Alderney Museum
St. Anne's
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Alderney
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A dip into history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A compact but interesting collection of artefacts and information about the history of the little known island. Low cost entrance fee but be aware of the noon closing time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, England
Top Contributor
409 reviews 409 reviews
281 attraction reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
“An interesting mixture of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent an enjoyable 2 hrs browsing the exhibits, learning more about life on the island during the war, the shipping wrecks in the vicinity and viewing the art exhibition on local scenes. Run by volunteeers.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very knowledgeable staff, extremely interesting. Some great War History and really old artifacts. This is a Must do on Alderney.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Gannet and shag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We explored this museum when rain stopped our walking holiday. We knew quite a bit about the distressing history of Alderney but the exhibits here brought the experience into sharp relief.
Although compact,there is plenty to see here for a couple of hours or so......Napoleonic history, occupation history, wildlife exhibits including local sea birds and local art.
Really well laid out with helpful voluntary staff in attendance. Outside is a yellow phone box and a blue postbox....typical Alderney!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halwill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Although the arrangement of exhibits I found somewhat confusing, the museum (staffed by informative and friendly volunteers on our visit) is well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alderney Museum also viewed

Alderney, Channel Islands
Alderney, Channel Islands
 
Alderney, Channel Islands
Alderney, Channel Islands
 

Been to Alderney Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alderney Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.