We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our number one choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria's Food

Gloria's Food
Ollivier Street, St. Annes, GY9 3TD
01481 822500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, African, Cajun & Creole, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Gloria's Food is a small family-run restaurant on the picturesque island of Alderney, tucked away in the Albert Mews off the main high street. Combining her award-winning dishes and over 20 years of culinary experience, Gloria has created a mouth-watering array of ever-changing tastes unique to the island. Whether you prefer tapas, soul food or some of her traditional signature dishes, there is something for everyone at Gloria's Food!Al Fresco Dining, Free Wifi, Cards Accepted, BYO Wine available
Alderney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our number one choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having eaten at all of the restaurants on the island more than once we can safely say that this is the best food on the island. You will need to book for Friday and Saturday nights as it is very popular with the locals.

Something magical happens in the kitchen. The tapas are delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    17
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Amazed in Alderney!! Deserves #1!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We happened upon this place while wandering through town. Not having a clue what to expect from a side alley eatery, we were informed by the waiter that they close at 2pm (it was 1:55pm), but we wanted to eat and they were happy to serve us lunch at that late hour. We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of our meal - I ordered the Mexican tortilla salad, which sounded very tasty and lived up to my high expectations - a real rare occurrence in the UK! It was the nicest "quick" meal we had while touring the Channel Islands for 10 days. Make the effort to walk up the hill and find this place, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaGF, Owner at Gloria's Food, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to find us out, and for the kind review! Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“food,glorious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hi,
Only my second review but I feel the need to express how my visit to Gloria's food was such a culinary delight.The food would satisfy the taste buds of any budding master chef,the menu so varied and the service made the whole experience one to savour.We were advised to book and I could now see why.Myself and family left completely satisfied,armed with the knowledge that a visit to Alderney would only be complete with a return to Gloria's food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visited first time 14 th of August. Busy, but service was excellent and the food - very tasty, good portions, price right. Will visit again when over! Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant never fails to delight. The food is slightly unusual and reliably delicious. A real gem!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gloria's Food also viewed

Alderney, Channel Islands
Alderney, Channel Islands
 
Alderney, Channel Islands
 

Been to Gloria's Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria's Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.