We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Pheasant

The White Pheasant
21 Market Street, Fordham | ( Nr Newmarket ), Ely CB7 5LQ, England
+44 1638 720414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 92 Restaurants in Ely
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $74
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: STOP PRESS... We are proud to announce we have received 2 AA rosettes for culinary excellence. Having initially trained at the White Pheasant in 2005, Head Chef Calvin Holland went on to cook at some of the UK's finest multi-rosette & Michelin Star restaurants, only to return to the White Pheasant in August this year as Head Chef and Proprietor.With an emphasis on locally sourced produce alongside award winning wines, this family owned restaurant offers everything from light lunches or a traditional Sunday lunch to the finest A La Carte menu. The epitome of country dining, boasting a beautiful open fire and weathered floorboards, the Pheasant is now taking bookings for Christmas parties with a special menu of exquisite dishes designed for the winter months such as braised cheek of Hereford beef or a Ballotine of Gressingham duck. Menu's & wine lists are all available on line.
1 review
“A decent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was there on Mother's Day and hosted a private dinner party there 10 days later. On both occasions, the food was good: decent portions and presentation. The restaurant entertained all my requests for the party and I could not fault them at all: the service was excellent and the guests were happy and there were a few with special dietary requirements! Ample parking spaces there and this is a brownie point.
This is a venue where you can relax, chill out and enjoy a good meal. It is not 'fine-dining' where the dishes are tiny and laid out with little dollops of mousse or jus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    44
    13
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had dinner at the White Pheasant whilst visiting friends in the area. Warm welcome by the lady of the house who very considerately closed the window blind to keep the cold off my back as a bitterly cold evening. Beautiful real fire so restaurant itself warm.

Enjoyed pre-dinner drinks whilst perusing the menu which offered a good choice and there were extra dishes on a specials board.

It was a Birthday celebration for me and I did not in fact order a dessert as was satisfactorily full but a nice gesture was to bring out a plate with ice-cream and strawberries and "Happy Birthday" written in chocolate around the rim especially for me.

We would go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very warm welcome, good atmosphere and varied menu. The four of us all enjoyed our meal, but the main courses could have been a bit hotter.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
“My Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went to the white pheasant whilst staying around Newmarket as it was my birthday.
We had a delicious meal, from starter to sweet, excellent food and excellent service
I would recommend this restaurant to all. Friendly staff lovely surroundings with open fire
very cosy on a winters night.
Hope to visit again soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Country Restaurant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Decided to go for a Lunch Today, decided after mulling over to go to The White Pheasant with the Mother,Mother ordered Pork served with mash and Gravy and Veg.
I ordered Newmarket Sausages with Mash and Vegetables, Delightful Food extremely TASTY.
Lesley who runs the Restaurant is a friendly Delightful Lady as is the rest of her staff.
Worth a visit to this delightful little Restaurant if your ever in the area !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Pheasant also viewed

 

Been to The White Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Pheasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.