We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Boat has been sunk” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse - CLOSED

Boathouse
5-5A Annesdale, Ely CB7 4BN, England
+44 (0)1353 664388
Improve this listing
Price range: $65 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: There are few more attractive places to eat in Cambridgeshire than looking down the river Ouse as you enjoy a meal of fine British cuisine supplied with the Boathouse’s unique European twist. The inners of the restaurant calmly reflect the tranquillity of the riverside setting, but whilst you relax you can also peek at the chefs hard at work in the open plan kitchen, perhaps cooking up the locally caught eel which often features on the Boathouse’s a la carte and light lunch menus. Service is friendly and efficient, the wine list is extensive, and the Boathouse is delighted to host occasions ranging from a quiet lunch on the riverbank to a cheery evening feast.
CAMBRIDGE
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The Boat has been sunk”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

The boathouse restaurant is no more. It has been "revamped" & is now the Grand central-basically a burger bar

Not my favourite type of restaurant

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    62
    32
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Been twice, poor service twice, food ok - nothing special...
Fajitas served with no side plates? really!
Waitress could not remember food order or drinks, got in wrong while taking down the order, then had to come back to check!
Ages to get served first drink, probably waited 10 minutes then had to be reminded! At this point the table next to us piped up. "We have had no drinks either and we're half way through our starter!"
Tip don't sit round the other side...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Happy customers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I really can't understand how people who review this place can make comments like wow the food was amazing and the portion sizes massive, all I can say is they are not used to dining out and they must all belong to weight watchers any American tourist who visits this place will have the best comedy night ever, as for the staff the waitress I experienced just did not have a clue, and the manager was more concerned with trying to tell me a 60 yr old man old enough to be her dad when I asked her about the price of that great American beer perroni £4.70 her statement was well sir I CAN ASSURE YOU ITS A FAIR PRICE, American diner it's not if you want value for money a big portions go to arbuckles now that's amazing value for top quality food and service, I have posted on here before about this place but I feel obligated to warn people of there over inflated prices

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch by the water.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were having a look round Ely on Sunday and had spotted this place on the net; a nice location by the water's edge.

We had a couple of the appetizers as starters which were first class, then both had roast beef which was perfectly cooked although the roast potatoes were a little poor - I suspect they were part boiled then deep fried not roasted....

good selections of wines by the glass and puds.

Apparently closing for refurbishment in January - March 2014 so pop in now before that happens!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was third time I was here and I came with my best mate for lunch more like wine and shared few little dishes for 4 for 10£ which has been really tasty interesting flavours and well seasoned! Local cider with 2great wine pinot grigio and and muscat from south France!!! Great waitress-and she always veen serving me!!! Great day!!! Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse also viewed

 
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.