We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poets House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Poets House to your Saves list
Poets House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Marys Street, Ely CB7 4EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ely
Leicestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just spent the weekend at this hotel and it was wonderful.
Beautiful property - friendly staff -
Breakfast was delicious and surroundings were lovely.
Only complaint would be the pillows!!!
Ely is a beautiful town and the cathedral view from the window was great.
The suite itself was really good, iPad in each room, and the decor was gorgeous.

Room Tip: Cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver T, General Manager at Poets House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear SJPetterson,

What a lovely review, many thanks for providing it!

I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team and owners who will both be delighted to hear of your successful stay. Ely is indeed a beautiful place and we are delighted to provide such a well positioned base from which to explore.

Thank you for your comment regarding your pillows. I will look in this with our housekeeping team shortly.

We'll hope to see you at Poets House again soon!

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    65
    33
    14
    2
See reviews for
35
172
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I saw this hotel in a magazine and thought there had been a mistake as it reported that the bar had a "grass roof " and I had thought it meant a "glass roof " It does have a "grass roof !"
The welcome was exceptional , as if they had been waiting for us to arrive . We sat in a sumptuous cocktail bar and sipped chilled champagne whilst nibbling on complimentary spicy corn served in a charming teacup. The menu was interesting and I was so impressed to see an imaginative and varied vegetarian menu as an extra . The wine menu was exciting and well priced. My only disappointment was the rapacious pricing of a bottle of sparkling water,which was nearly £5 !
We were only booked in for dinner and were shown to our table at our leisure. The food was beautifully presented and bursting with flavour. The dining room was elegant and sparkling. (However ,a little area that needs a little attention is the cleanliness of the waiting staffs shirts !)
We are so pleased to have such a venue that is value for money, luxurious, close by, has charming staff, and in a perfect location. We shall definitely become regulars!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver T, General Manager at Poets House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear ianpistoff,

Thank you for your review.

It's lovely to hear we have some potential regulars on our hands and thank you for highlighting a couple of the details which we pride ourselves on delivering.

The constructive elements of your feedback have been noted and I have plans to address the staff presentation expectations and water pricing with our Food and Beverage team in the coming days.

Thanks again and we'll look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A nice place to dress up and go for a cocktail in, but have been several times now and the service is always slow, items always forgotten, even upon reminding them theitems don't turn up, and there are a couple of staff who are actually pretty rude.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver T, General Manager at Poets House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear FiEly,

Thank you for your review.

Your comments certainly make for disappointing reading as we would never wish for a guest to leave with this view of us.

We did have some teething problems in a service delivery sense during our launch period but feel confident we have eliminated these with, amongst other implementations, the introduction of our new management team. It is clear you have not experienced this improvement, although I'm pleased you have endeavoured to return on several occasions, despite the negative view of your prior visits.

I will discuss your comments with the team as they will be particularly mortified to hear they have come across as rude. This is not what we do at Poets House and I know they will utilise your feedback to further improve standards and build on the increasingly positive reports we have been receiving of late.

I'd very much like to discuss the matter with you further in person if the opportunity to contact me directly should arise. If not we'll hope to have one more opportunity to impress you and I am confident we will achieve this. Please let me know if you have plans to return and I will happily make the necessary arrangements for you.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed 28th and 29th August as a birthday treat. First class service from the point of our arrival. This hotel has the intimate and luxury feel of staying in a fabulous house rather than a hotel. It is situated in a beautiful village location overlooking the cathedral. The rooms and grounds are clean and kept immaculate. Exceptionally pleasant and helpful staff. Food is great particularly the breakfast menu. Our room was spacious with the trademark copper bath and Hermes toiletries for that extra special touch. We have stayed in a large number of hotels and this is a hotel to which we will definitely return very soon and comes highly recommended

Room Tip: Room 13 has a lovely view over the garden area to the rear and is very quiet. Try the restaurant as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver T, General Manager at Poets House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear James G,

Thank you so much for your review and kind comments.

We are certainly very pleased with our progress and delighted to be receiving feedback such as yours. There are further plans to develop our offerings and build on this initial success. We'll hope you return to experience Poets House again in the future,

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just has a stay for 1 night as we had family performing at the Party in the Park.
Our 1st impressions where very good and excellent value for money and on the whole this hasn't changed. However there are a few little annoyances that do need resolving if we were to ever go back.
1 - We were in "Suite" 1 ( I think they're all suites?!) and the noise from the 2 neighbouring offices in the hallway was not at all acceptable at midnight. I believe 1 was the duty managers office but the constant door slamming is an annoyance.
2 - As there is no control on the remote for the tv to limit volume it means you can hear other tv's being listened to.
3 - AC is useless and smells of chlorine
4 - Why is there no thermostatic control on the water so when you are showering you don't get randomly scaled / frozen?
5 - Make sure the door auto locks when you leave the room as it is only by chance we discovered it doesn't you need to manually lock it
6 - Get rid of those stupid tassles on the keys!!!
Now most of these points are just niggles but no 1 in particular is a pain. Resolve these and you will have a fantastic hotel.
Service btw was faultless all around, very polite and very helpful from ALL involved, we also loved the bath and the food was nice.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 unless you have ear plugs and take the tassles of your keys once you arrive!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver T, General Manager at Poets House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear esf666,

Thank you for review and for coming to stay with us whilst at the Party on the Hill. This was a busy night for Ely and indeed for us hosting the acts and VIPs.

Whilst delighted you found the service and overall stay to your liking, I am sorry that there were parts of the experience that caused you annoyance. We are at present looking into each point you make individually. To briefly address the key elements:

1) You are absolutely correct, there should be no disturbance from neighbouring rooms and offices and we will utilise your feedback to ensure this is the case. There was slightly increased footfall throughout the hotel given the nature of the occasion and this is certainly not a regular complaint we receive.
2) Unfortunately we were unable to source a televisual product capable of limiting the upper volume. We are somewhat reliant on our guests respecting each others desires and would hope this is not a regular source of discomfort. Obviously we will monitor this and look to source a solution should it be a recurrent issue.
3) This is the first note received regarding our air-con and seems to be a localised issue. The problem has been investigated by our contracted supplier and I'm pleased to report the unit is now in full working order. Thank you for your notification.
4) I'm not entirely sure of the confusion in this regard. There is thermostatic control on the main mixer tap. Perhaps this is a little unclear and we will discuss possible ways of providing guests with some guidance on this.

Thank you again for your feedback. I hope the above offers some assurance that your detailed comments will aid us in the delivery of the 'fantastic' experience you feel us capable of providing.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in the Poets House last night and we were treated to an excellent experience. The view of the cathedral was great and a really nice detail with the positioning of the (huge) bath to maximise the view. Breakfast was spot on with local produce and the local gin provided was a nice touch. The staff all seemed relaxed, friendly and ready to help.

I agree that a pen and a luggage rack in the room would have been an asset and the iPad with the hotel details could not connect to the WiFi very well, but these are trivial points.

The only near negative: I did see a couple being asked to move tables at breakfast as the table was already laid for lunch, quickly followed by another couple sitting at the same "lunch" table and the table being relaid for breakfast (whilst the original couple looked on) - I think I would have been annoyed if I was asked to move and then watched this happen. The table should have been reset in the first place, or not laid for lunch so early as people were still coming in for breakfast - there was still an hour of breakfast to go.

Also, shouldn't there be an apostrophe in the name? :-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver T, General Manager at Poets House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Toby B,

Thank you for your review and feedback for Poets House. I am pleased you had an excellent experience and your account of your stay is a pleasure to read.

Thank you for pointing out the relay situation of which you are absolutely correct and this has been addressed with the restaurant team. Relays for other services should be carried out when that particular food service has ended.

Our Wifi is being tested as we speak for signal issues and luggage racks are on order as again these are both very valid points.

In regard to the missing apostrophe... this is a little poetic licence on our part. You are grammatically correct of course and not the first to highlight this. It is, and I'm sure will be, the source of much discussion going forward!

Thank you again Toby for your review, it would be great to put a face to the review when you are next back with us.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Poets house for a night on our anniversary and enjoyed every minute. The room was lovely, not too over done with nice touches and complimentary champagne brought to the room soon after arrival. The study bar was comfortable and the staff good and although the prices were a little expensive not more than I expected from a hotel bar. Breakfast was tasty and good quality if a touch on the small side but we were able to select extra items from the continental buffet. The only downside was that we were mot informed of the valet parking before hand and made our own arrangements. All in all a good stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver T, General Manager at Poets House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Alturn8,

Thank you for your review and feedback for Poets House. I am pleased you had a good time and that all was in order. Your feedback points have been noted and will be reviewed as part of our management process.

I am sorry that there was some confusion over the valet parking, this is a service that we offer for all our resident guests and are looking at the way in which we advise guests of this going forward.

Thank you again for your review and I hope you will return to Poets House when back in the area.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poets House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets House

Address: St Marys Street, Ely CB7 4EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Poets House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Ely’s historic city centre, Poets House commands superb views of the magnificent Cathedral, and having undergone a sensitive, design-led transformation is set to become one of the city’s premier Hotel, Restaurant and Event destinations.You can enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner in The Dining Room, an elegant space where you’ll enjoy the perfect combination of a warm and friendly welcome, top-class service and traditional dishes served with a twist. Alternatively, The Study, overlooking the tranquil courtyard garden, is the perfect venue in which to enjoy anexpertly-mixed cocktail, an informal platter, or an indulgent afternoon tea.If you want to stay over, each of our 21 guest-rooms consists of a spacious suite, in which period features and restful views blend seamlessly with the latest technology, elegant free-standing Copper baths and the last word in luxury beds.Whether you’re planning to stay, want to book a meal, or would just like to know more, we’re here to give you all the help you need and look forward to talking to you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Poets House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poets House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.