We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing find, beautiful house, with secret garden.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral House

Cathedral House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cathedral House
Save
You added Cathedral House to your Saves list
17 St. Mary's St., Ely CB7 4ER, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 35 Ely B&B and Inns
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What an amazing find, beautiful house, with secret garden.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Probably the nicest place we have ever stayed at. The hosts of tastefully decorated their unique house, and were so friendly and informative. The breakfast was excellent. We can't speak highly enough. Will be back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
24
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well I have to say this came as something of a surprise. Not normally fans of B&B as can't help the feeling you're in someone else's house - which you are of course but hotels are more impersonal & not owned or lived in by the receptionists (you know what I mean I'm sure!).

This was recommended by another B&B up the road which was full up as there was a stamp auction on in Ely so when I phoned I was fully expecting to be told Cathedral House was full up too but we were in luck & duly made our reservation.

The first thing which struck us when we arrived was how close it is to not only the Cathedral but also Oliver Cromwell's House & Ely Museum - couldn't be better situated. Next up was the character & setting which was magical, through the door in the wall & it's like stepping back in time with a beautiful garden full of mature trees & bushes & lovely garden ornaments.

The house itself was in the same vein, full of character, lovingly maintained & with lots of amazing old books, knick-knacks,ornaments,pictures etc etc. We were shown to our room by Jenny who was very friendly & not only was the room superb (along with a great en-suite) but we also had exclusive use of the hallway outside which led to a private sitting room. Wasn't expecting that & it was great to have so much space to ourselves.

In the morning we had an excellent breakfast, freshly cooked, & met Robin with whom we put the world to rights for a good hour & a half! Apparently they used to live in London & guess where - yep, exactly where we live now, small world!

Very sorry to leave but places to go, people to see - we will certainly be back & I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestatyn
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Two minutes from Ely cathedral, I found this Bed and Breakfast a very different place to stay to any I have been in before. There were no rooms left in the main house but was offered a room in what normally is the self catering unit. All rooms in this unit were en-suite. The bathroom was "snug" but sifficient but anyone of large proportions may have a problem. Converted from the old stables , many of the original features still remain, and the current owners have furnished it sympathetically.. comments from other guests staying in the nore conventional house were also favourable. Hosts , Jennie and Robin are delightful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Tucked under the spires of Ely Cathedral, this cottage is a hidden gem. Leave the busy road, through the garden gate and you have a pleasant walled garden. Through another gate, into a cobbled courtyard and the old stables have been tastfully converted into a 5-person cottage.

The cottage is full of interesting items, approach the room from a different direction and you will always see something new. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable with bijou en-suites in each. Each room was very clean, quite a task because this is as far from clutter-free as you could get.

The owners are very personable and knowledgeable, make sure you put aside a little time to talk with them.

Great location with good days out. We went to Duxford (don't forget to get tickets with Tesco Clubcard), The Newmarket National Stud (a bargain tour for £10) and an easy train journey into Cambridge (use the tour bus and visit Maddingley American Cemetry). Real Ale enthusiasts must visit the Liberty Belle (10 min walk).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The self catering cottage at Cathedral House is like stepping into The Secret Garden from the second you walk through the first gate into the B&B. As you walk the gravelled pathway surrounded by shrubs and flowers, another doorway leads you into a private courtyard that separates you from the bustle of the city completely. The cottage itself is well beyond what one could expect: every room is a treasure of well equipped comfort and all in keeping with the history of the house, beams, boards and all. An unusual blessing was the individual ensuites, but also much appreciated was the proliferation of books around the house and the extremely comfortable sitting/dining room just off the kitchen. I spent some of my time just sitting in the garden soaking up the sounds of the distant world among the baytrees, lupins and birdsong, feeling like I was in a vintage book of some sort. As I was in town for a funeral, I needed this peaceful place to retreat, but the fact that after walking out the door you not five minutes walk from the cathedral/high street just made everything so easy. And the final, most worthy part of the five stars go directly to our wonderful hosts - Jenny and Robin were wonderful; not just helpful and present, but personally welcoming. My thanks for creating such a place to stay and for being such warm and gracious hosts. (And for returning my forgotten belongings so speedily!)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have been staying at Cathedral House, on and off, for the last 12 months when work requirements take me to that part of Cambridgeshire.

Cathedral House is a beautiful Grade II listed building, kept in a relaxed and comfortable traditional English style. The rooms are good sized yet cosy, there are shelves of eminently readable books everywhere (example: "The Devil's Army" about that famous local resident Hereward the Wake), and the welcome from Jenny and Robin could not be warmer. Jenny also cooks a delicious breakfast served in a beautiful dining room. There is off-road parking for guests, and the location could not possibly be better. Ely Cathedral, Oliver Cromwell's house and some great dining options are two minutes' slow walk away (the celebrated Old Fire Engine restaurant is just around the corner),

There is a beautiful walled garden with a table and chairs, simply inviting one to sit down on a warm summer's evening with good company, a bottle of wine and perhaps a sneaky cigarette. The only slight downsides are cramped bathrooms in some (but not all) of the rooms - a legacy of the property's age and listed building restrictions) and the Wi-Fi signal can be weak. Neither of that has stopped me from coming back time after time, nor will it in future.

Payment is cash only, but the flip side is that the rates are very attractive.

The B&B is not well signposted or aggressively advertised, which is a relief as I have usually been able to secure a room!

Room Tip: The top floor room in the main house is my favourite - although the bathroom is not technically en-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My partner and I wanted somewhere nice to stay for the weekend in Ely, and we found just that. We traveled by train, and were fairly tight for time to make it to the Cathedral for a concert. Jenny and Robin couldn't have been more helpful, settled us in smoothly so we even had time for a quick drink before the concert.
The whole weekend we were made to feel very welcome, and Jenny and Robin had lots of advice on things to see and places to eat or drink.
Can not speak too highly of this lovely B & B.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cathedral House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral House

Address: 17 St. Mary's St., Ely CB7 4ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.