We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathing bliss and a warm welcome in walking distance of central Ely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walnut House

Walnut House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walnut House
1 Houghton Gardens, Ely CB7 4JN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 35 Ely B&B and Inns
Bega
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Bathing bliss and a warm welcome in walking distance of central Ely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We loved this quiet, friendly place, stumbled upon on a cool, rainy evening. Warming up and relaxing in the bath was pure bliss after a tiring day in Cambridge, and it even helped me get my act together for a stroll in town before bed.
Walnut House is easy to find on one of the main axes of Ely, and only a few minutes from the extraordinary cathedral. From there you can do a pleasant loop through town and along the river, then back up through parklands on the south side of the Cathedral.
Despite being on a main road, Walnut House is set back from the road in beautiful gardens and we were not bothered by noise at all. Breakfast the next morning was one of the best we had, especially the fresh fruit salad. The owners were warm-hearted and our room was comfortable and clean, and we really appreciated the choice of hot drinks on offer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We felt at home in this lovely and excellent B&B in the heart of Ely, a short ten minutes walk from the cathedral and the main street. The room is spacious and clean and has comfortable beds and chairs. There is enough space to store your clothes and luggage. The bathroom is a bit small but excellent nevertheless, with a very good shower and some extras like bath foam. Tea and coffee making facilities are in the room, including cookies. A big asset is that the room has its own front door so you do not have to go through the house of the hosting family. Our host Linda was very kind and made a perfect breakfast for us every morning with lots of choices for cereals, fruit salad, eggs, sausages.We will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Another lucky strike. It was the week before uni recommenced so Cambridge was full. Let's try Ely. Keep an eye out for a b&b, knock on the door - jackpot!
This is a superior establishment with lovely friendly hosts who ensured a most comfortable overnighter.
The hostess, Linda, was heavily engaged in organising a golf competition so away early the next morning but still ensured that we were provided with a lovely breakfast.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed in house for two nights and had a great time. Linda our host made our stay such fun. The room we had was within the house, but that was small issue and gave us the opportunity to get to know the family. The bedroom and bathroom were just fine for travellers. And did I mention breakfast...Worth considering when staying lovely Ely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Agree with the other three previuos entries a very nice place to stay, better than your average B&B, your own key to a separate entrance. Really nice personal touches like his and hers bath robes, power shower and bath with themostatic control, wifi, loads of tea coffee, apple and plum cordial, tea pot, nice large cups and saucers, scented sticks in the bath room, plenty of spare linen and towels. Could go on but enough to say it's a quality place with lots of little extras. The location is great too, within walking distance of the shops, river and cathedral. What a great find definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed here while travelling through to Cambridge. From the first moment of meeting the proprietors husband right through till we were leaving but were kindly told that we could leave our vehicle while we explored, we were made to feel like friends.
The accommodation is roomy, clean and furnished in keeping with the house. Everything you want to freshen up is supplied, in fact we were given a jug of fresh milk when booking in as we mentioned we had been on the road a while.
Breakfast was of our choosing, from a full English to a couple of poached eggs on toast, nothing was a problem.
Ideal walking distance to the town, Ely Cathedral -well worth a visit - and plenty of places to eat. Enjoy a stroll along the river and take your time to delve into a number of antique shops.
All in all a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

What a great welcome we had and what a wonderful short stay.
The whole experience (including the famous "Full English") was an absolute delight and we shall definitely be back for seconds.....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walnut House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut House

Address: 1 Houghton Gardens, Ely CB7 4JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ely

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walnut House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Walnut House to your Saves list