We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish House Ely

The Fish House Ely
5 Market Square, Ely CB7 4NP, England (Formerly Petrou Brothers)
+44 1353 662720
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 92 Restaurants in Ely
Price range: $8 - $11
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Having previously lived in the area I was used to having a good experience of the fish and chips here. I understand it has changed hands, and my experience was of less than average quality. The staff however were excellent and very helpful. Hopefully the owners can bring the standard back to what it used to be

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    1
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Took my little grandson for a visit to Ely...just had to stop at the Chippy -- that used to get voted the best in CAMBS COUNTY ...really good but pricey

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If ever anyone is in Cambridge and want to eat then go to this restaurant. It is a fish and chip shop and sells the normal food expected in such places. There is a seating area inside and also a couple of chairs and tables outside. I ordered the haddock , my husband ordered the cod they arrived coated in a tasty, mouth watering batter, well cooked with tasty chips to the side. Best fish and chips we have eaten in a very long while . The prices were very reasonable, and the staff very friendly and polite, will definitely visit again and recommend to everyone we know.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The best fish and chips for miles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The fish was generous in size, beautifully cooked and the chips were crispy outside but a lovely texture inside, not greasy. One of the best I have tasted in a long while

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Petrous sold this chipy now its rubbish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Chips greesy fish small and poor quality so guess what customers have left.
If you want good fish and chips in ely try alans fish bar best in town

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish House Ely also viewed

Ely, Cambridgeshire
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 
Ely, Cambridgeshire
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Fish House Ely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish House Ely, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.