We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Valley

Mango Valley
Cambridge Road | Stretham, Ely CB6 3LU, England (Formerly Spice World)
+(44)1353648453
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 89 Restaurants in Ely
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Indian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Went to spice world just on the off chance. The choice of food was excellent. Value for money. Eat as much as you like. Very attentive staff. Extremely friendly. Beautiful cuts of meat. Food freshly made.
Wonderful

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
littleport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“not closed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I visited Spice World with 11 members of my family on Friday 8th March 2013 and found it to be very much open after having read on trip advisor that it was closed. We were celebrating the 40th birthday of my daughter and had a very enjoyable evening. Could not fault it in anyway, staff were very friendly and the food was a very high standard.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Ever increasing excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Curry is a personal opinion, but the concept of eat all you like normally means you choose from four dried up curries, a bahji and some left over rice. Here the buffet concept is done properly with a crazy amount of different dishes on offer, i think they said 80?. Not only that the food is fresh, and no it doesnt dry out. I have witnessed the staff removing food from the counter and replacing it with fresh. So whatever time you turn up it is freshly cooked, and delicious.

A good choice of starters are on offer with an equally good quantity of mains, of varying styles and strengths, I am convinced that there is something for everyone.

An added bonus, they do not serve alcohol, you bring your own, so forget about adding 50% extra for all those Cobras, just bring a six pack or some wine. They will happily supply glasses and openers.

If you are within range, there cant be a better place to get a curry!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Again nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Second time of visiting this establishment and not dissapointed excellent food Buffet style eat as much as you can with a large selection of starters, mains, including vegetarian dishes and all the side dishes to accompany , BEWARE their are some very hot chillies in some of the dishes, great time had.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Variety the Spice of Life - A refreshing change!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

On the spur of a moment we decided to go to the Spice World - having driven past it several times ( but only noticing it once!).
The Spice World is clean and spacious with plenty of seating!
Ok the surrounding were great - but what about the food? Well being a fussy vegetarian I have to say that the variety of dishes on the buffet menu was excellent! In the past other indian 'buffet' restaurants have only the one or two veg side dishes. Not so at the Spice World - plenty of variety of dishes and chilly-heatness! Mild if you like mild and really chilly heat if you prefer it hot and spicy! Incidently, my hubby, who enjoys his meat intake, was not disappointed either! Again a great variety of meat and prawn dishes. And Plenty of freshly tandoored nan bread!
The staff there were really helpful too! One of them - posibily the owner - even offered to make a different dish if there something else I prefered!

If you are going for a curry in Ely / Cambridge then take a trip to the A10. Theres bound to be something for everyone!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Valley also viewed

Ely, Cambridgeshire
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 
Ely, Cambridgeshire
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Mango Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.