We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 29 Waterside

29 Waterside
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
29 Waterside
Save
You added 29 Waterside to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   29 Waterside, Ely CB7 4AU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 35 Ely B&B and Inns
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Delightful. We only stayed the one night this time but we will stay again without hesitation. We couldn't have been made more welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Their home was shared with us with such ease. Bedroom and ensuite spotless and the breakfast kept us going for the rest of the day. Great location too so handy for exploring the rest of this beautiful area. Thank you Jude and Charlie

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torino
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Located in a mid-18th century cottage, this B&B is close to the river Ouse and only a short walk away from the stunning Cathedral of Ely. Jude & Charlie offered us a warm hospitality in their small house furnished in a Victorian flavour and decorated with a personal touch in every corner. The atmosphere was pleasant and relaxed. Our en-suite double room was clean and provided with tea and coffee making facilities, an LCD TV, a large cupboard, a desk with lovely fresh daffodils and two bedside tables with an alarm radio. The bathroom was roomy with pieces of tea pottery on the window ledge.
The full English breakfast was delicious as well as the selection of cereals, the orange juice and the home-made jams and marmalades. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

jude +charlie couldn,t have done anymore to make our stay more enjoyable,they were like old friends although we had never met them before,without a shadow of a doubt we will be returning later this summer for another charming stay. thank you jude +charlie.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We completely agree with the reviews on this page, and especially those of Tom and Catherine concerning travelling with young children. The hosts of 29 Waterside, Charlie and Jude, could not have done more to make this a relaxing stay for our young family. The inclusion of fresh sunflowers in our room was really lovely as they are my favourite flower. Thank you Charlie and Jude.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Just one example of a very warm welcome at this B&B when stayed there with my husband and one year old. Several B&Bs in Ely were distinctly sniffy about small children, but our hosts were charming about it, had made various adjustments to suit her and gave us a very pleasant stay. A beautiful cottage, though small, and perfect location, just moments from the river, and a short walk to the cathedral.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We had a fantastic stay at this B&B in Ely. The house was full of character, and the couple were fantastic. They really made us feel at home and were more than helpful. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 29 Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Waterside

Address: 29 Waterside, Ely CB7 4AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Hotel Class:4 star — 29 Waterside 4*
Number of rooms: 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 29 Waterside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.