We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clowns Cafe

Clowns Cafe
54 King Street, Cambridge CB1 1LN, England
01223 355711
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 523 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Surprisingly poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We love trying out new places and after having Clowns recommended, we had to try it.

Oh how disappointing! The place is quite dark and dingy inside, but it smelled nice so we didn't back out slowly hoping nobody had noticed us. In hindsight I wish we did.

Everything is precooked and displayed in Deli counters. They take a slice, put it on a plate and microwave it on the counter. The cakes are all shop bought processed rubbish. The chocolate cake managed to be dry and soaking wet at the same time.

The only redeeming feature was the coffee, which was really quite good - but you need to drink it sitting at sticky tables and hope you don't need the toilet because they haven't been cleaned for a week.

I told my friend about our experience and he said, "Yeah, but did you see all the clowns?" I did, but it hardly warranted a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    6
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I believe in supporting independent cafes, I really do, and hate to write negatively about one that has become a bit of a local treasure in Cambridge. I visited at around 11.45 on a Saturday morning, the place was pretty empty. Inside is scruffy and sticky and the loos are unpleasant, although the effect was exacerbated by a toddler sitting there with the door open! On the loo theme, the cheesecake was even worse; nasty, oily and bought in cheaply from somewhere, it tasted of lemon cleaning fluid and left an oily tang in the mouth. The coffee was decent, but small.
I will visit one more time and eat lunch before I decide to avoid entirely.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I started going to Clowns years ago, it was great then. For a few years I missed out on the delicious food and great service. Then recently went back. It's still GREAT! Service with a smile, great food, great atmosphere and above all the tastiest freshly made lasagne I have ever eaten! This is one of Cambridge's best cafés, if not the best!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great Food and Drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice busy Italian Cafe - resonable prices and quick service - the Beef Lasange was very meaty and tasty the cafe latte was generous - not rushed - if your looking for somewhere quiet then go elsewhere this is Italy at its best

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Atmospheric, tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

A noisy Italian bar-style cafe. Good range of food, good value. Have to queue and wait at busy times but it's worth it. The platter of parma ham, mozarella and tomato was the tastiest I have ever had and extremely generous - converted me to a mozarella fan.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clowns Cafe also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Clowns Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clowns Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.