We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant Cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clowns Cafe

Clowns Cafe
54 King Street, Cambridge CB1 1LN, England
01223 355711
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 524 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Vibrant Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Another good spot in Cambridge, busy but always friendly. Carry your food upstairs if you need to get work done. Good for large groups.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    6
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northants
1 review
“Phobia of Clowns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I think it is the best cafe I have ever been to. Very friendly. Lovely full fat coffee and a very unique aura. What kind of idiot would go to a cafe called clowns if they have a phobia of clowns.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great coffee and cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you can get past the clowns the place is great! I love the coffee and cakes and the lunch items are great as well. They don't offer low-fat milk, but that is probably why the cappuccino is so lovely!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A nice cafe with a brilliant friendly family feel. The staff were exceptionaly nice and helpful.
A good menu with a nice selection for vegetarians. Food ranged from sandwiches, salad and pasta dishes.
Our main was nice but for a small bowl of melanzane parmigiana which was already cooked and just blitzed in the microwave we found it a little bit expensive (£6.00) The bread that was offered with our meal was just sliced white bread with sachets of butter!
A great place to stop for a coffee and cake but other nice places in Cambridge available for lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

when i went to clowns cafe it was very good food, the lasagne was probably the best ive ever eaten, the tiramisu was amzingly exquisite, but the giant picture on the wall was very scary for me, as i have a phobia of clowns.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clowns Cafe also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Clowns Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clowns Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.