We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious....portions too small though!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Horseshoes

The Three Horseshoes
22 High Street | Madingley, Cambridge CB23 8AB, England
01954210221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #189 of 524 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $31 - $78
Cuisines: Asian, English, Mediterranean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: A picturesque thatched inn, The Three Horseshoes brings seasonal, modern British cuisine to this idyllic Cambridge suburb. The airy conservatory restaurant and buzzy bar look out onto the sprawling Three Horseshoes garden, where guests can enjoy refined, weekly-changing menus. Chef and owner Richard Stokes sources from some of the finest artisan suppliers, including beef from Cumbria, cheese and cured meats from Italy, and locally caught and shot game.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious....portions too small though!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Fortunately, we were able to get a table on a Saturday night after walking down from Madingley Hall, who had stopped serving food 15 minutes before the advertised time (very annoying).

Initially, they weren't sure they could offer us a table, but eventually let us have one in the bar. We waited ages to be served and when no one cane to the table, I went to the bar and ordered there (although customers who came in afterwards seemingly didn't have to do this).

Very interesting menu and delicious bread, olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

Was rather disappointed at the size of the portions, particularly considering the price! We subsequently ordered a side of fries to add to the meagre portions but they didn't arrive until we'd nearly finished (they were very busy though).

The food was delicious though, and the dessert I had (violet ice cream, hazelnut honeycomb, butterscotch and chocolate) was the most delicious thing I think I've ever eaten.

Again, I had to go to the bar to get the bill and was surprised to find a 10% service charge added. As this had not been advertised previously or indicated on the menu (coupled with the fact that the service had been pretty much non-existent), I asked for it to be removed, which wasn't an issue.

I'd certainly eat here again, the food was delicious - but please, make your portions bigger (or cheaper) and improve your service or get rid of the charge!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richred, Owner at The Three Horseshoes, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
i am glad you loved the food.
i am not sure what food you had so i cannot comment on what you thought was small.

so sorry

kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    52
    39
    42
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a great place this is. The menu is extremely interesting, varied and somewhat unusual but everything is of superb quality. The food is very well presented and the staff are so friendly and helpful. Whether you decide to eat in the bar or in conservatory style restaurant you can be assured of an excellent meal. It is not cheap but worth the money every time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richred, Owner at The Three Horseshoes, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
thank you so much for your nice comments.

kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“How do they keep this standard up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We've been visiting The Three Horseshoes for several years, but a recent visit surpassed even their high standards. Three of us all chose the most expensive dish on the menu, wild sea bass at £23 a plate, but you get what you pay for. This was combined with the most delicious creamed sweet corn and an infusion of coriander, heavenly! Our dessert of black currant jelly with jersey cream and biscuit was simple but hit the spot, followed by excellent coffee. Keep cooking like this and we'll keep coming back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richred, Owner at The Three Horseshoes, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments it does mean alot.

kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The restaurant was recommended by the hotel. It is located in a beautiful spot, and the restaurant looks really nice.
The service is impeccable, and the people really nice, but what you look for in a restaurant is the food, and this was a real disappointment.
The risotto was overlooked,mushy. The crabmeat was fried and oily even lightly burned. I sent back my espresso, that I had ordered "ristretto" it was tasteless and watery, they replaced it with an excellent one, I believe they should have made the effort to do a good one when I ordered it.
Sorry the place really has all it takes to be an outstanding restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richred, Owner at The Three Horseshoes, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
i am sorry you thought the risotto was overcooked & that your coffee was cold i am pleased you was happy with the replacement.
you are correct the deep-fried soft shell crab is fried in oil!
it is impossible to burn the crab & have oil in it at the same time( well i have not managed to manage that in the 35yrs i have been cooking)
thank you for your comments we will use them in a positive way.

kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Original food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had the pleasure of eating here last saturday. The service was exceptional, all the staff were freindly and very well informed, they could advise us on choices from the menu and wine. No popping back to check with the chef here, just well trained waiters. The food was really unusual, very bright colours and little flowers to decorate made it quite unique. We did not intend to have a desert as had starters and main course but we were tempted to see the bright blue ice cream and we were not disapointed, it not only looked great but tasted it too. We will return to the three horseshoes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richred, Owner at The Three Horseshoes, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
thank you i am pleased you enjoyed everything!

kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Horseshoes also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Three Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Horseshoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.