We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, quick food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dojo - CLOSED

Dojo
1-2 Millers Yard, Mill Lane | Off Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
+44 1223 363471
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Thai, Pacific Rim, Noodle, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Dojo is a hugely popular restaurant serving street noodles from the Far East. From rich creamy Malaysian Laksas to ocean flavoured Japanese Seafood Soup Udon, Dojo centres on their uncompromising passion for serving quality noodles at fantastically reasonable prices.Dojo is renowned for Excellent Value for Money using the freshest ingredients and premium grade herbs and spices.No MSG additives are used in the restaurant's cooking reflecting the restaurant's dedication to serving healthier food as well. Having undergone a recent major interior refurbishment, Dojo has a contemporary design with cross-overs into a "Chinoiserie" style.. This cross-over is particularly exemplified with a 10 metre feature wall showing an enchanting hand-painted mural of lush summer faunas and vivid songbirds in an Oriental garden. From spring onwards, Dojo's access to Millers Court Yard, provides for fantastic al fresco dining.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cheap, quick food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Huge variety of dishes and portions are huge! They cook everything to order. Not the place for a relaxing meal but the atmosphere is great if you're beginning your night here. Vegetarian choices are great. I have had takeaway from here before and that was also excellent. If you are brave give their chilli sauces a go. They will knock your head off!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dojo N, Public Relations Manager at Dojo, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi Leah

Thank you so much for your positive review of Dojo. It's all down to our relentless front of house staff and kitchen brigade working tirelessly to ensure that our customers enjoy a wonderful time at Dojo. Thanks again and see you soon.

Kind Rgds,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    60
    14
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Tasty and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We loved the variety of the fare offered, the friendly service and the cosmopolitan ambiance.

Although it was busy we never felt either rushed or neglected. The staff couldn't do enough.

Our choices were delicious and tasted fresh.

We can certainly recommend it. Great value and excellent vegetarian choices as well.

When we come back to Cambridge we will visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dojo N, Public Relations Manager at Dojo, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi Purzzel

Thank you so much for your most generous comments on our restaurant. To us, a restaurant is about serving great food with great service and I am thrilled that we lived up to your expectations.

Thanks again for taking the time to write up about us and we very much look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Cambridge.

Kind Rgds,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have been going to Dojos for many years and love it. The portions are huge (you can take any you can't finish home in a box) and the food is very tasty. It is always busy but service is always fast. A student favourite that is great value for money!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dojo N, Public Relations Manager at Dojo, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi Nss41
Thank you so much for your most positive review. It's customers like yourself whom have been with us over these years that make us motivated to continue serving great food with good service. Thank you for taking the time to write about us and see you soon! Kind Rgds, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best laksa I have ever had!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are huge fans of this type of cuisine and were looking forward to our meal here. Visited on a Monday night and were very lucky that we could get a table outside as they were very busy. We both ordered a freshly made fruit juice which were both great. Starters and mains were delicious. As my title says I would highly recommended the laksa! Defi the best I've ever had! Huge portions especially at how reasonable the prices are! Would highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dojo N, Public Relations Manager at Dojo, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi Georgina
I am genuinely thrilled to hear your comments about our laksa. Having stayed in Kuala Lumpur for 10 yrs, I knew our laksa was good and its' so pleasing to hear that our customers share the same sentiment. Thank you so much for taking the time out to write about us and hope to see you soon at Dojo! Kind Rgds, Simon

P.S if you like the spicier, S.E Asian type of food, I also would strongly recommend the satay chicken (starters), our Sambal Mee Goreng noodles and our Penang Curry (with rice). Enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Food, Reasonable Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had heard good reports of this restaurant and wasn't disappointed - the food was pretty good and was good value for the portion size and for the price paid. The menu is quite extensive and is a selection from different Asian countries - best to ask if you particularly want something a little spicier as the menu description is on the basic side. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food ordered arrived very promptly. There is another noodle bar in Cambridge that I do prefer but I certainly wouldn't object to going to Dojo again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dojo N, Public Relations Manager at Dojo, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi 2GuysSW
Thank you kindly for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you found our food and service up to expectations, and given your comments would have expected 4 stars rather than the 3 stars given (3 stars meaning Average).

You are absolutely right in asking our staff for the spicier options. Given that you are well travelled and are likely to seek for authentic dishes, I strongly suggest that you ask our staff the house specials rather than go along with the most popular items (since most popular may not translate to our best dishes). Indeed, you may wish to inform our staff that you wish for your dish to be stronger flavoured (in line with Asian taste given that many of our dishes' recipes have been tweaked to meet western taste).

Thank you for giving us an opportunity. I hope the next time round, we can serve food which would even delight you further (I have personal recommendations of what I would eat at Dojo, if you would like this pdf file, pls simply let me know and provide your email to me via a reply).

Thank you again for taking the time to write about us.

Kind Rgds,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dojo also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dojo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.