We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Choice for Wonderful Sunday pub lunch with family.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Willow Tree

The Willow Tree
29, High Street, Bourn, Cambridge CB23 2SQ, England
01954 719775
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 526 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $13 - $66
Cuisines: European, International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“1st Choice for Wonderful Sunday pub lunch with family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

A fabulous atmosphere and décor with candle light dining.

Went here with 9 family members to celebrate 2 birthdays and a wedding anniversary. We couldn't have made a better choice. The food was excellent with an abundant selection of specials additional to a wide and varied standard menu. The portions were generous, not overlarge, allowing us to both dine and linger over a 3 course lunch with plenty of time to catch up on family chatter.

The wine selection was very good and the quality was reflected in the price. The servers were very friendly albeit the service was a bit slow. That said, the restaurant was packed on the day, meaning the kitchen was very busy. Everyone had a good time and we shall certainly consider revisiting The Willow Tree in the New Year.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    61
    40
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Through the looking glass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Willow Tree was an amazing find.
When you take your first step into the restaurant its breath taking, its like stepping into a farytale, with a elegant twist, somewhat enchanting. you can find yourself dining on thrones by an open fire with tall candles providing light for your table or lounging on huge sofas enjoying a drink all with premium food and service.
my girlfriend and I visited on the 7th Dec for our 1 year anniversary and had the most amazing time. all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful big smiles and going the extra mile to make our night special, the owner of the restaurant took the time to have a chat with us at the end of the night and make sure our evening was ok which was really nice and made us feel special (also speaking to him about the restaurant which he is so passionate about was great). The food was divine, we had; the pulled pork starter, venison burger & Chicken breast as mains and sorbet & apple tart for desert, all courses were excellent and served on hot plates and extremely good value for money.

I will definitely be going back, and i will take friends and family with me.

if you're looking for a restaurant that stand out from the rest and for a really special night go to the willow tree.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poorly cooked after 2 attempts!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My dish arrived cold and meat was over cooked. Returned to kitchen to resolve and same dish was just served again having presumably just been heated under a grill, as plate was warm. Meat was now dry and tough. I complained but was only offered £9 off of £19 dish.

Poor cooking and poor customer service. We are not going back and would not recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced, very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Overpriced, poorly cooked, one of us had to return a main course twice as it wasn't cooked. We won't be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shabby Chic a bit too far .......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

2nd visit for myself and 4th for my friend and again the food is well prepared and tasty, but i have to say i feel the shabby chic is looking a little too shabby!
A good coating inside and out of paint and a good scrub on the floor tiles in ladies loos and again in main area need to have a good clean as where the floor buffer doesn't reach i'm afraid looks greasy and dirty.

This is such a shame on a great venue last time i raved about the venue and recommended friend and family, as the whole experience is not rushed and you are left to enjoy your sitting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Willow Tree also viewed

Caxton, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Willow Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Willow Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.