We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable lunch.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge Cambridge

Cafe Rouge Cambridge
24 - 26 Bridge Street, Cambridge CB2 1UJ, England
01223 364961
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 512 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Seven of us had a family lunch here after punting. Sat upstairs. Plenty of seating here. Staff were attentive and friendly. Pepper and houmous baguette with fries was nice but a bit small . Salmon was tasty. Omelette was very good. Beef bourguignon was also tasty. Everyone enjoyed their food. Pleasant atmosphere. We paid in part with codes obtained from Tesco vouchers. Great to be able to use these to keep the cost down. Good place to have lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    78
    39
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Interesting soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stopped in here after 3 hours of walking around Cambridge, needing some sustenance. I chose to be outside as the rain was holding off, ordered red wine and French onion soup. There are so many variations on this, but thankfully the rich onion base does seem to be somewhat consistent. The soup arrived, warm enough but not hot, with a puff pastry bun on top, cheese underneath; it was not what I had expected, yet very tasty and enjoyable. Overall, a very pleasant break before the next walking adventure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A large group of us (20+) from a Cambridge University sports team ate here for an annual meal in mid June 2014, was a weekday evening. Pre-booked, we had the upper floor to ourselves.

Our waiter did a great job considering how many of us there was (and that the wine had been flowing freely). Everyone commented on how good their individual meals were. I had the soup for starters, the sausages for my main and the excellent chocolate pot for dessert.

Definitely would be confident of going back here with more select and intimate company.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adstock, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The best chain resturant in Cambridge?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I wouldn't normally suggest going to a chain restaurant in Cambridge, even more so a French one but, once again enticed by a tesco/boost deal we chose Cafe rouge for breakfast after a May Ball night punting trip. The Cafe was empty whe we got there for a 10:30 brunch and the manager and team seemed busy in conference in the back half of the ground floor. We decided to sit in the outdoor courtyard at the back but therewere deliveries coming in so we moved to the front table.

The interior is full of character (although of course in the chain style - a sort of bowdlerized Paris Cafe). I think the best breakfast things here are the Oeufs Benedict (free-range poached eggs on toasted muffins, with rich Hollandaise sauce and smoked ham. Served with sautéed spinach and rosemary herb potatoes) with we shared and a Pain au Chocolat which was up to scratch. Good location, decent food, nice (but unexceptional staff) - despite my adversity to chains I bet this is the best chain in Cambridge (especially now that the artier of the two Pizza Expresses is gone).

PS: The Tesco boost deal didn't work as the Tesco mainframe was down so we ended up having to pay actual money - but it was cheap and good so not to painful..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great job with a large group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Our group of 21 ate at Cafe Rouge last evening. Amos was our primary waiter, and he and his team did an excellent job of serving our food while still hot. I had French Onion soup, Salmon cakes and a slice of lemon tart. The soup's flavor was very good, but the croissant-like bread floating on it was bigger than necessary. The salmon cakes were excellent. The lemon tart was the best flavor of the whole meal - tart in flavor, yet light with a nice fresh whipped cream garnish.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge Cambridge also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Cafe Rouge Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.