We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cambridge v Chester” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston Arms

Kingston Arms
33 Kingston Street, Cambridge CB1 2NU, England
+44 (0)1223 319414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 526 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cambridge v Chester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Prior to today's conference league game. My wife and I met up with friends who are also chester supporters. The Kingston Arms is a real ale pub which is slotted in between a row of terraced houses the beer is good and the food is good value. Look at the recession menu for both beer and food. The pub is situated in Kingston Street, Cambridge. It is worth a visit , even more so if you are a member of CAMRA (campaign for real ale).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always good beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Beer Beer Beer, there is always a wide selection, and the JHB is always tip top! They also have cigars for sale

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I read the revues about the service and I can only report that we found the opposite to be the truth. Seven of us squeezed in on a very busy Saturday night and we found the bar staff very helpful indeed. The food was good and reasonably priced and there was a great selection of real ales, most of which we tried between us. When we were finding it difficult to get to the bar because we were a bit hemmed in the barman saw our problem and proceeded to take our drinks orders from the table, describing the beers and ferrying over our selections. One mistake on the food order was rectified immediately with good grace and a free beer! All in all a good, friendly, proper pub.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brewers Slops!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

On a trip from Clacton, we looked forward to our visit to the Cambridge Pubs we'd drunk in before .It was 6-30 p.m.on Tuesday 18th February and at the Kingston Arms-Brewers Gold-wow!
Prompt service and my wife settled down on a stool away from me.The barman obviously didn't connect she was me as he calmly tipped the Brewers Gold slops into her half from beneath the counter and pulled a fresh pint for me. Was that a blush I saw from the barman at this CAMRA rated pub as I passed my wife a sloppy half! Mm! I wonder if this is a common practice! Didn't bother to have a meal or show my CAMRA card to get a reduction on the slops! Off we went to the Geldart for a decent pint or three! George H

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“busy back street local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Dropped in on a Saturday lunch time. Food was freshly prepared and we snacked on half a pint of pork scratchings before hand. Busy place with a wide selection of both draught and bottled beers. Worth the walk from Mill Road

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingston Arms also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Kingston Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.