We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston Arms

Kingston Arms
33 Kingston Street, Cambridge CB1 2NU, England
+44 (0)1223 319414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 510 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I booked by telephone a table for 4 adults plus a child, specifically requesting a high chair. When we went to the pub, the waiter showed me a table with 4 normal chairs. When asked about the requested highchair, he said they don't have highchairs in the pub (meaning they never had any highchair, not just at that particular time). I told him this was not mentioned by the girl at the telephone and my booking was accepted, and he repeated that they don't have highchairs.
I can't say anything about the food because I left the place right away, but they clearly have a problem in customer service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    11
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A real little gem of a pub. All the best things about an English pub. Great atmosphere inside and an outdoor area out back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge England
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I always look for th epositive in a pub but there was like positive inour visit to The Kingston Arms. Tables were sticky toilets dull and grubby. The staff were rude (the barman was reading a book and ignored a customer) and unwelcoming. We will not be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pub ambiance, gastropub flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Typical pub atmosphere, with a pleasant back garden patio.

Ample selection of traditional and new ales, as well as ciders.

Food was very good, especially the daily sausages.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good reputation, undeserved”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have lived in Cambridge for many years. This was always a go-to-pub but over the last couple of years the staff have become increasingly rude to the point where I would not suggest this pub as being worthy of your time.

An awkward atmosphere, with rude and frequently unhelpful staff who seem to go out of their way to make you feel out-of-place. They survive on their reputation, but the true experience is far from their idyllic stance of being a jewel in Cambridge's pub crown.

If your desperate the beer is good, but don't expect service with a smile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingston Arms also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Kingston Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.