We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub ambiance, gastropub flavours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston Arms

Kingston Arms
33 Kingston Street, Cambridge CB1 2NU, England
+44 (0)1223 319414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 549 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pub ambiance, gastropub flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Typical pub atmosphere, with a pleasant back garden patio.

Ample selection of traditional and new ales, as well as ciders.

Food was very good, especially the daily sausages.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    11
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good reputation, undeserved”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have lived in Cambridge for many years. This was always a go-to-pub but over the last couple of years the staff have become increasingly rude to the point where I would not suggest this pub as being worthy of your time.

An awkward atmosphere, with rude and frequently unhelpful staff who seem to go out of their way to make you feel out-of-place. They survive on their reputation, but the true experience is far from their idyllic stance of being a jewel in Cambridge's pub crown.

If your desperate the beer is good, but don't expect service with a smile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
“Nice attractive friendly pub with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have always found the service good here when popping in for a drink and on two recent visits the food was good. One occasion I had scallops with black pudding, the scallops were good though the black pudding was very overdone for my taste, and though the new potatoes were very tasty the accompanying salad was pretty miserable. Their recession busting cottage pie at £5 is very good value and a good portion, though the veggies were a bit overdone. But overall good value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Generally very good, service sometimes lets it down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I go here a fair bit for lunch as I work nearby. The Kingston Arms is a great little spot for lunch and a drink. The menu is not amazing gastro pub food but tasty pub food at reasonable prices. If I lived nearby i would happily pop here for a few evening meals. The burger/ fish and chips/ sandwiches are all really tasty and it do not disappoint.
I would just say one barman is really nice and friendly. Just the sort of person you want behind the bar. There is another we come across sometimes and he is the opposite! Not very obliging and seems to take personal offence to ordering something from him (even if you are a semi regular!). I assume this is the same chap a few others have mentioned....
All in all a really great pub, worth a visit. If you do get the grumpy bar man just ignore him and enjoy the garden in the summer!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and wide variety of excellent beers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Tucked away just off Mill Rd this traditional but funky pub ticks all the rights boxes. Lovely choice of real beer and a good food menu. We visited on a warm and sunny evening when the rear garden was buzzing with people ordering food. The kitchen coped admirably and our food was served promptly and was delicious. The sausages on mash with red cabbage particularly good and the portions were generous.
The bar and waiting staff were friendly and efficient and the atmosphere upbeat. Would recommend to anyone who loves a real pub.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingston Arms also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Kingston Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.