We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful meal, wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotto

Cotto
183 East Road, Cambridge CB1 1BG, England
+44 1223 302010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 512 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $83 - $121
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open for dinners , Wednesdays - Saturdays from 6.30Pm. Small independent Restaurant , tucked away on East Road , in a courtyard , Dining on the first floor. Sourcing daily , the best quality Meat, Fish , Vegetables and products. 5-7 Housemade breads daily changing. Minimum three courses menu . Traditional , handcrafted style , from Masterchef ( Kuchen meister ) Hans Schweitzer and his brigade. Desserts a speciality , Signature dish - 'The Chocolate Piano ' designed and created by Luciano Pavarotti .
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Cotto has so many wonderful reviews that it is hard to write anything that hasn't already been said before - but I will say that it absolutely lives up to expectations. We had a fantastic evening and will be sure to return. Surprisingly, one of the particular highlights was the vegetarian option for main course which my mother ordered. Vegetarian options can often be 'also rans', but this was an absolute triumph with no fewer than 15 different beautifully presented elements on the plate, all of them delicious. We were also particularly impressed with the professional and friendly service. One tiny element of the vegetarian dish was slightly undercooked and my mother mentioned this to the waiter. When the manageress came over, she was extremely gracious in thanking us for mentioning it. She said she would have offered a complementary glass of wine, but had clearly taken the trouble to work out that my mother wasn't drinking, and therefore made a very lovely and generous alternative gesture. This was the best example of the handling of a 'complaint' that we have ever experienced and completely unexpected. Thank you!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    53
    18
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“World class restaurant in a World class city!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

What a well managed family run restaurant. we had booked a table for three as this was treat for a family member visiting from abroad so we wanted a specially good dinner.
the service was excellent from arrival to departure, we were privileged to be allowed to meet the chef in the kitchen after the meal, a German chap who owns the establishment with his wonderful wife who was the hostess on the evening.
Would recommend Cotto for that special night out with a loved one or just a slap up meal to spoil yourself!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Absolutely superb from start to finish.
This was our second visit to Cotto this year and its been first class on both occasions. I can't fault this in any way, from Hans and Ruth to their staff, the level of service is friendly and informative, the menu choice is wide and varied, the quality of the food is outstanding.
You may have guessed that we quite like this place and would recommend it to all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Cotto is a beautiful space. The Manageress Ruth invites you in with such warmth and care. Umbrellas immediately taken to dry, coats wet from pouring rain are no problem for her team to hang and dry, while we enjoy a glass of champagne and offered a menu.
The dining area is pretty. Xmas lights, subtle lighting, lovely paintings on the wall. The service is immediate, we are looked after with every aspect of our dining experience and I feel so relaxed in the knowledge that we are going to enjoy every mouthful of Hans superb menu.
The seafood chowder simply blew us all away. Beef cheeks, so completely yummy! We all tried something different so that we could share. Our wine waiter was fun and very knowledgeable. He knows the menu, he knows the wines in stock and was able to advise us perfectly.
We all love Cotto. It is the first choice for any special occasion. Thank you Cotto and all your team for the work you do. Happy Xmas and new year. We look forward to dining with you in 2014.
The Cartwright family.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
443 reviews 443 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“fLAWLESS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Top quality service and top quality food. Book well in advance and arrive on time. Everyone is knowledgeable about the food and really friendly. It was a birthday occassion and they mad it special. FLAWLESS

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotto also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Cotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.