We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real stuff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Blue

Cambridge Blue
85-87 Gwydir Street | Cambridge, Cambridge CB1 2LG, England
01223-471680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 549 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Real stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Cambridge Blue is offering a genuine pub-experience to all vistitors. It is almost always crowded but it is possible to book a table. Tree of the last five years the pub has won first prize in competition of serving best pub-food in the city. They have a new menu every day and some standard-dishes. We recomend their lamb. Tender and served with a fantastic gravy. Cambridge Blue is a freehouse and offers a wide range of beers on tap. Their list of bottled beers are no less than impressing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    50
    17
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good choice of beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

First visit since the revamp. Interesting selection of real ales both on handpump and in the tap room. Good for foreign bottled beer as well. Great collection of breweriana.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Beer, Poor food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

If only the Cambridge Blue's food menu was as delicious as their beer. This highly regarded pub excels in its choice in beer, with both an ever changing range and staff that on hand to advise or explain. The food is below average in standard and the prices seems much to high as a result. Regular beer festivals are held throughout the year, and if the sun is out over a long weekend, there isn't a better place to be sitting than outside in their large beer garden.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The beer here is excellent, probably the best in Cambridge but the food has taken a severe dive in the last few months. A few weeks ago the sausages and mash were terrible. The sausages were hard and dry through out and seemed like they had been reheated from a previous cooking (why?!?) and the mash was lumpy. Shocking. We got a free desert when we complained but I has told my companions that this was a gastropub. They also had sausages & mash which was equally bad. Another time an friend we were with ordered Cambridge Blue Chicken and it was dripping in oil and grease. he had been waiting an hour for the food and was starving and so he just ate it. The cook / waitress actually waited for us to leave before she picked up the dirty plate she was so embarrassed with her efforts. However, I have had the chilli here twice and it's been good. A mixed bag, which is a pity considering the beer is so good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Terrible food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Went to the blue for dinner on a saturday night. I ordered a lamb shank with veg and my other half a burger. My lamb was ok but the veg had obviously been sitting in a boiling pan of water for hours. The brocolli in particular was mush. My other halfs burger was overcooked and dry as a bone and the side salad was warm. Obviously been prepared hours earlier and allowed to just sit out. When my othet half raised the issues with a waitress the waitress had the audacity to argue back. Not good at all. Eventually we were offered a free dessert each, which we declined. We did not want free food but decent food for the money we had paid. Overall the blur is ok for a drink but terrible for food. Plus the customer service needs dramatically improving. if you want good pub grub go to the nearby geldart where the chef obviously cares about the food he produces.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambridge Blue also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Cambridge Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.