We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Worth House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Worth House to your Saves list
Worth House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   152 Chesterton Rd, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 117 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Guido and Maria were terrific hosts, making us feel very welcome in their B&B. We had loads of space in the apartment at the back of the house with access straight to the garden; ideal for the kids. Worth House is within easy walking distance to the centre of the beautiful city, and close to good places to eat. But don't go out for breakfast; Maria's cooking is wonderful and we were well looked after with everything we could possibly wish for. All the thoughtful touches, including emergency box, were appreciated. Would highly recommend and will return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    50
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
97
174
31
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A unique B&B - Guido is a friendly and very welcoming host - our room (Number 1 ) was outstanding and spacious. This B&B outshines others we have stayed at. Our room was ready despite our early arrival. The Worth House B&B is conveniently situated to the town, being a nice walk along the River Cam - about 20 minutes into the City Centre.

Our room was tastefully decorated - Boutique style - nothing had been overlooked - from the welcome tray with a good selection of teas and coffees, to the lovely luxurious bath towels, walk in shower and really comfortable bed and pillows. Attention to detail has to be credited to our hosts Guido and Maria. Breakfast menu was lovely with individual toasters on each table - a nice idea - which meant your toast was ready when you wanted it and hot!

Guido and Maria should be really proud of what they have achieved - obviously they have worked hard and can only say that the "Italian" hospitality and influence makes their B&B outstanding and unique - would have no hesitation in recommending their B&B (although I would want to keep it a secret) and would definitely stay here again and would certainly have no hesitation in recommending this as the place to stay in Cambridge - 10 out of 10. There is nothing but praise for our wonderful stay at Worth House.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Worth House and it was an excellent base for exploring Cambridge. It is a very easy walk from the B&B to city centre and you can leave your car in the lot located behind the Guest House. Worth House is a fun, welcoming place, Guido has a great sense of humour and his style is complemented by Maria, a super cook and who also makes guests feel right very welcome. The home is very comfortable, clean and homey. We really appreciated the spacious room, well equipped bathroom ensuite and were pleasantly surprised by the reasonable rates.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had an overnight stop here. Great location with easy 15 walk to beautiful town centre. Guido and Maria treat you as part of the family and are the most lovely couple. We felt straight at home. The room was fabulous. All the trimmings of a four star hotel. Large comfy bed, large tv, large modern bathroom with claw foot bath, robes and they have even thought of an emergency kit with razors, shaving cream etc. Breakfast menu was great and there was plenty to choose from. A nice little touch was that each table had their own toaster, finally hot toast. I would certainly come back here and I would highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Found Worth House on Trip Advisor and booked for two nights. Great room, well furnished, good sized bathroom and extremely clean. Location is about 15 - 20 mins stroll into centre of Cambridge through parks alongside the Cam River. Don't let main road location put you off - we found this convenient and didn't hear traffic at all. Guido is a friendly and welcoming host - enjoys a good joke with his guests. Breakfast was great and we liked having a toaster on the table so we could make toast just the way we liked it. All in all a great place to stay. Recommended to all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We arrived a little early than expected but that was not a problem. We had a very warm welcome from Guido. We were shown our room and all i could say was wow. The room was large modern but all the original fixtures were there. There was a great selection of teas coffees, water in our rooms. The shower room was very clean and the towels were nice and soft. Little touches such as emergency box, shampoo shower gel were lovely.
The breakfast was amazing for a small hotel they certainly cater for everyones needs, you had the choice from a cooking breakfast to scramble egg smoked salmon, a great selection of yogurts dried fruits nuts jams juice etc.
What can i say the hospitality of the owners was exceptional, all i can say is that if i am staying in the area we will definately book again and if you have any doubts about staying here don't because you certainly will not be disappointed.
The location is also excellant i enjoyed the walk to and from the worth house along the river into centre of cambridge.

Room Tip: we were in room one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Guido and Maria are excellent hosts, very friendly and helpful with directions and local information. The B&B property is in very good condition and the rooms are decorated to the highest standard. Car parking is next door and easy to access. Large range of foods for breakfast - cereals, fruits, breads, jams, pastries, yoghurts, juices and a choice of cooked breakfasts.
Worth House has everything we wanted and more - comfortable bed, quality toiletries, fluffy towels, bathrobes, emergency kit, free wifi, tv, tea and coffee making facilities etc. We would definitely stay there if we visited Cambridge again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Worth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worth House

Address: 152 Chesterton Rd, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Worth House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only guest house in Cambridge to be awarded "Four Star" & "Gold Award" for comfort, space, cleanliness, service and hospitality. Award Winning Breakfast 2014. Worth House is a beautifully renovated Victorian house with spacious rooms, offering comfortable accommodation to a very high standard and spacious en-suite bathrooms in all rooms with either bath/shower or double shower. Breakfast is served in our lovely breakfast room, where we offer a hearty English breakfast or continental, if you prefer. We try our utmost to make your stay as comfortable and as memorable as possible and look forward to seeing you at Worth House. Staying for longer? Why not try our luxurious Four and Five Star serviced apartments? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Worth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worth House Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worth House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.