We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tranquil place to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Denny Abbey

Denny Abbey
Ely Road | Waterbeach, Cambridge CB5 9PQ , England
+44 1223 860988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 107 attractions in Cambridge
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely tranquil place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

When we visited there were 3 other cars in the car park, meaning we had the opportunity to look round and experience the place in near silence. There is an excellent timeline running through the building meaning you don't need to buy a guide book or keep referring to a bit of flappy paper. It was good to be able to see how the building has changed and been altered over the years. The outer buildings were interesting and although we didn't spend a long time here we'd recommend it to others.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Isolated but historical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We went to see it and we felt we were in rural places of Cornwall. There are some reading and playing aids along the walk, but use your imagination since it is mainly the buildings that you will see and tell the story. The history was rich and deep though, and good it was salvaged from being a barn. There was no food shop nearby and limited souvenir shop, and the nearest we were told is merely a coffee shop. Free for English Heritage members.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Easy to understand plenty to do and see from explanations of crafts and the old ways of farming to looking at the old abbey.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting Local History”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

The small abbey has quite an interesting history and there are local craft and farming exhibits & displays, similar to other rural museums.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fascinating architectural puzzle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Denny Abbey is fascinating to visit - the legacy of it's long history is that it really is a thought-provoking architectural puzzle. There are arches everywhere - some bricked up, others with later arches cutting into them. It makes deconstructing the history quite a challenge. I've been here a few times before, and noticed this time that the information boards have increased.

The adjoining Farmland Museum is a wonderful step back to a time when skilled tradesmen made a living from rural trades such as basketmaking and blacksmithing.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny Abbey also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Denny Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denny Abbey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Denny Abbey to your Saves list