We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carpenter's Arms

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Carpenter's Arms
184-186 Victoria Rd,, Cambridge CB4 3DZ, England
1223 367050
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 523 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: American, Italian, Vegetarian, British, Pub, Pizza & Pasta, Gastropub, Fish & Chips
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Monday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Perfect place for Monday lunch, warm welcome from the landlord, delicious tomato and Lime soup, with good bread and generous helping of butter, washed down with Calverley's Best Bitter, from Cambridge's newest brewery.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great rooms, wonderful service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The Carpenters Arms is close to the city center. Easy access to the main routes but still has the great local pub feel. A great selection of ales and beers. We had dinner Saturday night and Sunday lunch. The menu is great with enough to keep evryompne happy but not to large to make choose difficult. Have a vegan friend? A gluten intolerance? Just ask Mike, the owner, he can do most menu items to suite. As we had dinner with friends and one cannot eat gluten, it was no problem for them to make a fresh gluten free dough for the pizza. The pizza's where fantastic, cooked in a wood burning oven with great fresh ingredients our friends said they where the best pizza's outside of Italy. (And they where Italien). Sunday lunch was no let down. Great steak for me with a portion of pork belly added as I didn't want chips ;-). My wife had the mushroom risotto which was perfect and my mother in law went for the roast duck with all the trimmings. No chance of any of us going hungry. I can't recommend the foos enough. Our room was perfect great linen and lots of room. A great nights sleep. If your staying in Cambridge put The Carpenters at the top of your list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, welcoming staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A lovely pub in the centre of Cambridge. Pizzas baked in their wood burning oven are to die for, but of you fancy something different they have a selection of other dishes on the a la carte. My partner had a fantastic venison burger. For the drinkers, they offer a selection of 20 beers - not to be sniffed at! A perfect spot, whether you fancy a pint or a bite! We will definitely be back...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Welcoming atmosphere with great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We visited this Gastro pub on a recent visit to Cambridge. All the staff were very friendly and the food was nicely presented and very reasonably priced. We had a confit of duck, lambs liver and the Suffolk ham. All delicious. Good luck to the new owners, we will be back!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An excellent recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were attending a concert at a nearby church and were recommended The Carpenter's Arms by one of the organisers. I asked to book a table at 6 pm but were told that they didn't serve food at 6.30. However, when we arrived we shown straight to our table and given menus to read. The food was served not too long afterwards and was excellent and delicious. We will try and visit again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carpenter's Arms also viewed

Great Wilbraham, Cambridge
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Carpenter's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carpenter's Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.