We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well placed and good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Cambridge Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge Cambridge Central to your Saves list
Travelodge Cambridge Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cambridge Leisure Park | Clifton Way, Cambridge CB1 7DY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“well placed and good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed here several times with work and found it very handy for the city. Plenty of places to eat nearby and good transport into the centre if you don't want the 20 minute walk. It is a bit basic, but usually clean and if you bring an extra sheet for the bed you can forget about the plastic covered mattress!

Room Tip: Probably the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    67
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
36
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stay here alot. I like where it is situated in cambridge. There are plenty of places to eat around it and shops for drinks and things aswell as being near the train station and not far from town. The staff i have always found to be very pleasant especially sonia. Always more than helpful and has always helped where she can. The only real complaint i have is the rooms could sometimes, quite often be cleaner. I have had rooms were the bath had hairs in it, the carpet hasnt been hoovered, found toe nails on the carpet and had dirty mugs. This has always been dealt with well but this is a major point to a hotel and its what lets it down. I have never heard outside noise and always feel safe. The rooms of late have got better so i assume they have new cleaners. If you are staying in cambridge then try it out.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this Travelodge because we were going to see Mike and the Mechanics at the Corn Exchange in Cambridge and it was right on the bus route into the town.We had no problem booking in and we went up to our room to deposit our bags and then left straight away to meet up with some relatives and then go straight to the restaurant we had booked into before going to the gig.However,upon our return we had to use the bathroom(as you do)and that was when we discovered the bin in the bathroom had not been emptied after the previous occupants had left and unfortunately there were used tampons and other items of an unsavoury nature.I went down to reception and informed the night porter(named I believe Daniel)who immediately apologised most profoundly and offered to change our room,as this was nearly midnight we did not fancy moving to somewhere else ,the night porter cleared away the offending rubbish and by way of compensation offered us both a free breakfast, which we accepted.
In the morning the duty receptionist could not apologise enough as she had been informed upon handover as to what had happened.After all that happened we would definately stay at this Travelodge again when visiting Cambridge.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the shops are quieter as there is a railway line at the back also park in the multistor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Extremely noisy and even though it's a budget hotel, could get cheaper and a quality night sleep laying in the park than here. Rude staff and cleanliness was at a poor standard. Breakfast was average (cold sausages and cold scrambled eggs).

Don't stay here.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cambridge Central, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Many thanks for submitting your review. We want all aspects of our guests’ stay with us to reflect our high standards so we are very sorry to learn that you did not receive our high level of service and food on this occasion and that you did not enjoy the comfort of your room. We would like to offer a resolution so please provide us with more information on the contact us section on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 2 nights at the Travelodge Leisure park at Cambridge, was pleasantly surprised, how well maintained and clean, the hotel was! On first impressions , from the façade of the hotel, it looks like something from " the eastern block", very austere! but inside the hotel is very light and airy. Very pleasant reception staff, nothing too much trouble, ideally placed, if you are travelling by train, nearly every bus passes the hotel, or if you have good mobility, can walk from the station to the hotel in approx. 5-10 mins! Do have a road facing room, if you like peace and quite, there is a night club and bars facing the Leisure Park. You are spoil for choice , where to eat outside of the hotel, Nando's, Frankie and Benny's and Five Guys! Cant wait to have another "girly" weekend, my friend and I , where invited to a "vicar and tarts" party, that some of the students where going to, we declined, not having any experience of being vicars!!!!!! Not bad for a couple of "old dears"!

Room Tip: Have a road facing room, if you want peace and quiteness
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wasn't expecting much with this hotel but was very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Staff v.friendly and helpful. Room fresh and clean. Bed Super comfy!!! Shower Fab!!! In great location. Breakfast was nice and plenty of it. Would definitely go revisit and highly recomend!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at Cambridge Central for a short stay recently. Found it close to station and used good bus service to get into town - a dayrider ticket is good value. Travelodge was very clean and comfortable. Thought it might be noisy because of location (close to eating places and sports centre) but was very quiet. Staff friendly and helpful and hotel clean and good value.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Cambridge Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cambridge Central

Address: Cambridge Leisure Park | Clifton Way, Cambridge CB1 7DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Cambridge Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotel.de and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Cambridge Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel Cambridge
Travel Lodge Cambridge
Cambridge Travel Lodge
Cambridge Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Cambridge Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.